mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Revise. — A New Holiday Calendar.

on November 26, 2013

Last week, my alarm clock started making its typical noise at 4:30 a.m.

But as I jerked myself awake and reached for the snooze button, I realized the song playing was Wham!’s Last Christmas.

“Last Christmas, I gave you my heart and the very next day, you gave it away…”

Which is wrong on so many levels. 1) That song was stuck in my head for the rest of the day. 2) I’m not a George Michael fan. But mostly, 3) It is not even Thanksgiving yet, why are we hearing Christmas songs already?!

I shouldn’t have been surprised, I started seeing red and green stuff mixed in with the orange and black back in October.

So, what if every holiday were like Christmas these days? What if every holiday started 2 months ahead of its schedule?

First of all, we could mark Valentine’s Day on New Year’s Eve. I think single folks everywhere might get on board with this one. Less pressure to find a date for one night, so less stress about New Year’s kisses and February 14th plans. Done.

And I don’t think anyone who would be drinking green beer for St. Patty’s Day would mind an earlier start. Seriously, if you are already on board with drinking green beer, I’m thinking you don’t really care which day this occurs, right?

However, decorating and hiding Easter Eggs in February could pose a problem. Especially if there is snow on the ground.

Fireworks would be less fun if it is too cool in the evening to sit out under the stars on the 4th of May.

But I think Trick or Treating in August would be an improvement. Maybe I would actually like this holiday a little bit more if the walk around the neighborhood were to take place on a nice Summer evening, instead of a cold dreary dampish night two months later. (I still would have issues with the sugar binging anytime.)

And as for Thanksgiving, well, that should really be celebrated every day of the year. Being thankful. Being grateful. Helping others. Family time.

Yes, that is a holiday for every day.

Now, I’m off to watch Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer…before Thanksgiving.

Sigh.

rudolphx-large2

3 responses to “Revise. — A New Holiday Calendar.

  1. panikikubik says:

    I love this post!Thank you mommyverbs :-).
    it’s the same in Sweden. the shops and commercials are spoiling my child hood version of holidays! They start to advertise for christmas in october ( no joke) they start to sell a swedich typical soda “Julmust” in october ( it’s like coca cola but a nother flavour).
    in january they start to sell easter eggs …because everybody wants to sell and to reach the customers first.They’re are turning out the light in the eyes of my own little girl who’ s still deep inside ( I’m 49) is waiting for some sort of Santa Claus at Christmas.
    Like this ..Santa don’t even want to go to sweden……

    Have a beautiful day!

    • panikikubik says:

      There are some typos in my post. I apologize for them. I’m on my way to work and I got so excited over your post, so I forgot to fetch my dictionary and control everything ( english is my second language). So when my english are really bad? Take it as a compliment , that you wrote an exciting and inspiring post! 🙂

  2. Happy Thanksgiving. We celebrate it early in Canada (mid-October). I hate that the Sears Christmas catalogue arrives in July…and the Halloween candy appears in August. I hate that I can’t buy mittens after January 1st, especially since “winter” can last into May. But I do love the Christmas lights…

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

