mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Cut. — And Color. But the Boy Child Does NOT Approve.

on November 25, 2013

I had an appointment at 10:00 this morning.

I had an inkling of a notion that this might happen.

And as I arrived and sat down in the chair, it was confirmed.

Yes. Let’s do something different. Brown. With a little red. It’s time to get my fall/winter season color on.

And what I love about Dawn, my beauty-magician,  is that she’s game to try something new … for me. Let’s be honest, it makes her incredibly nervous…but she loves that I’m willing to take risks like I do.

She heads back to the inner sanctum to mix up some colors. A little brown. A little red.

Meanwhile I flip through magazines looking for the next hairstyle. Not too short. Not too off the wall. If only I looked like Jennifer Lawrence. Or if only I could pull off a pixie look like Michelle Williams.

But alas. I am just me. So, I pick a new color and style that is … me. Just a new and different me.

So…here is the before and after. You can decide. (The only rule is … you have to say something nice or…nothing at all.)

cut n color

Where there was summer blonde, there is now a winter brunette. Truth be known, it is actually much darker than it looks in the picture.

And when I was wrapping up the boy-child in a towel after his bath, he let me know…in no uncertain terms . that he is…

not a fan.

He would like me to be blonde again.

He doesn’t like the darker hair. And even though I explained that change is good sometimes…

He would only concede that he hoped that I would change it back to blonde after Santa comes.

Clearly…he doesn’t do change well. I will have to continue to work on that with him.

Accepting change can be good sometimes. Embrace change.

Let’s all, Go. Do that.

Today’s Action Challenge: What change have you committed to recently? How has it changed you? How has it impacted others?

Change is good.

Let’s all, Go. Do that.

8 responses to “Cut. — And Color. But the Boy Child Does NOT Approve.

  1. rarasaur says:

    I’m not usually a fan of change, but I love the do! Let’s see… for change, I’ve recently cut of all my hair, too. Pixie style! Everyone seems to be a good sport about it, and I’m just grateful that it dries so quickly– it means less shivering in the winter air.

    • MommyVerbs says:

      I don’t think anyone really likes change…but it certainly strengthens our coping skills for moving on and making things happen. For the record, I love your new pixie do and love that your hubby did it for you. 🙂 I don’t think my face was made to be a pixie (although my heart was!) and I wouldn’t let Felix near me with scissors!

  2. Jan says:

    I love the new cut and color! As for me, I bought a car for the first time in 9 years. Does that count as change?

  3. Lead Our Lives says:

    Beautiful! Change IS good! This story is also a great reminder of the challenges that show up when we make a choice. Few are comfortable with a new us – in any form. Staying true to ourselves is the best gift we give to everyone around us – especially our children. Love the new look!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thank you! Your take on life is so powerful. I just realized that I have been walking around my house this morning, waiting for someone to say, “Hey, that looks really good.” After reading your comment, I realized that I don’t need it. I think this change looks good. 🙂

  4. I like the color and the style!

  5. Nod. As is nodding cuz’ I love the new hair! I never know what to do with mine and it’s now “static-out-of-control” seaon so it’s severely restricted. I’d love to go red…cherry red…or punk rocker blue…

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

