mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Mildew. — Why I’m Dreading Holiday Decorating.

on November 7, 2013

It is November 7th. And I am trying to be thankful.  Thankful for mildew. 

Yes. Mildew.

A few weeks ago, I went to the crawl space under the house to retrieve the Halloween and fall decorations we have stored there. I love this time of year. Not so much Halloween, I just fake that for the kiddos. But I love the fall colors. The oranges and maroons, the leaves. The pumpkins and scarecrows, the golds of it all.

So, I went under the house, ducking under the beams, walking like a hunchback. Until I found the three plastic tubs of fall decorations and dragged them out into the sunlight.

As soon as I carried them inside, the kiddos started pulling stuff out, knowing where it all goes. The leaf garland on the mantle. The little straw scarecrows on the bookshelf. The pumpkin lights in the living room. The spider bowl in the kitchen.

“Slow Down.” “Take your time.” “Be careful!” “Don’t drop that!” “Walk. Walk. WALK!”

I started looking around, seeing the browns and golds and oranges and maroons and smiled.

And just as I was starting to feel that “Fall is in the air” spirit, that is when it happened.

I smelled it. Within just a few minutes,  I smelled that sickened, sweetgross smell of … mildew.

I vaguely remember that Felix mentioned in passing that the crawl space was damp. But I’m sure I wasn’t really listening.

But. He was right. Yep, the damp mild temps of summer has created the opportunity for mildew.

On my stuff. On my fall stuff. On my decorating stuff.

I am really, really sensitive to that icky smell, and began to go back through the house collecting the spider bowl, the pumpkin lights, the little scarecrows and spiders. Back into the box. And into the garage. All of it.

Everything except for the plastic pumpkins that the kiddos carry for trick or treating. Mildewy.

I have to admit that I am a little sad that I am going to have to throw most of these things away.

Nothing that was too valuable,  mind you. Everything that can be replaced. I just can’t have any of it in my house anymore.

But what makes me even more sad, is the realization that all of my Christmas decorations are down there, too.

Along with the tubs of yearbooks and high school memorabilia.

And even though I know in the big scheme of things, it is not that big of a deal. 

I am still a little sad to throw the little scarecrows in the garbage.

The big ones get to stay outside now.

The good thing is that I cleaned out and downsized some of the Fall Decoration boxes.

But I’m really dreading to see what is inside the green and red boxes.

Oy.

scarecrow

9 responses to “Mildew. — Why I’m Dreading Holiday Decorating.

  1. geanieroake says:

    Halloween stuff – meh, but your right, Christmas stuff hurts. It’s all those little ornaments that the kiddos make in grade school etc. Can you wash mildew off stuff? Surely there’s some kind of mildew-be-gone that can be sprayed on. Good luck. And like you said, it’s only stuff.

  2. rarasaur says:

    Maybe it’s a good opportunity to make some new Christmas memories. Just in case, though, I’d look into mildew-fighting spray, ha! 🙂

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Yes. And a dehumidifier in the crawl space. Or an addition to the house to store my stuff. 🙂 This could get out of hand quickly. Wish me luck…I haven’t had the nerve to go check everything yet.

  3. Swoosieque says:

    Oh man! I can’t imagine what you’re going through to practically start over again with re-building your Halloween and Christmas decorations. I’d be on the floor crying!! And then I’d grab the credit card, wipe my tears and go shopping!! 😉

    • MommyVerbs says:

      I haven’t been brave enough yet to examine the full extent of the damage, so I haven’t cried yet. But … there is still the possibility when I think of what is stored down there. Fortunately, the super sentimental valued ornaments are stored upstairs. I’ll have to let you all know how it turns out…soon. Thanks for the note!

  4. genext13 says:

    Renew – I know the feeling of losing those memories. I also know that creating new ones can be just as fun. Enjoy doing that while you reminisce and mourn the lost ones.

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thanks…I appreciate the co-misery. It will be ok. I don’t even know the full damage yet, I’ve been too afraid to go and look. But, like I said, it is just stuff and we will work on building new memories moving forward.

  5. Oh…the memories packed into each item. I’m so sorry. Nostalgia is priceless. First must mourn fully before being thankful…hugs–

  6. Tuning In says:

    Perspective. You didn’t lose your decorations in a flood, earthquake, fire, typhoon or tornado. Your family is intact. Your children will learn from your good attitude of dealing with the unexpected. Good job!

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

