mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Press. — That Almost Wasn’t. Now On To the Next Thing.

on November 6, 2013

Soon after I first started blogging in the WordPress community, I remember stumbling upon the Freshly Pressed page.

I think back on it now like it was the mystery glowing gold suitcase in Pulp Fiction. I still remember the “oooohhhhh”s and “aaaahhhhs”s I mumbled as I marveled at how these amazing authors were selected to be highlighted on this page.

I was in awe. I loved their words. And I loved the look of their little blue circle W badges on their pages. So pretty.

I even wrote about wanting to be freshly pressed here, here and here. And Ok. Yes. Even here.

But it wasn’t happening. I wasn’t getting ‘discovered’. I wasn’t getting anyone’s attention.

And over the next few months, I began to fully realize and recognize just how…H.U.G.E. the WordPress community actually is.

It is B.I.G.

And with B.I.G., come complicated logistics, making it hard to find my lil’ ol’ blog.

Just a couple of weeks ago, I heard from a precious blogger friend of mine that she was having some struggles because of some unpleasant followers of her bloggy goodness.

So, I began to question whether or not it was worth it. To be Pressed or not to be pressed?

Maybe it was just too much trouble.

Maybe there is something to be said for growing readership organically. Not too fast. But one, by one. Making connections and friendships along the way.

Maybe I should just focus on what I can handle. In my crazy, need to take a pause, tired working Momma kind of life, I should just focus on what I can handle.

Maybe I should focus on  my blog as it is meant to be.

But then.

Then.

I got this beautiful email from WordPress Editors when I checked my phone like I do upon waking at 4:30 a.m.

From the lovely Michelle, telling me “Congratulations!”

And then

Then.

It was all different.

I remembered why I wanted to be freshly pressed after all.

I immediately felt butterflies in my stomach and resisted the urge to wake up the best friend/partner/hubby so early to share the news.

I ran through the internet to get to the post to make sure that there were no typos, no silly errors.

And then

Then.

I smiled.

I. Am. Freshly. Pressed.

I have a little blue Circle W. of my very own on my sidebar.

And I have so enjoyed the little diddleding that my phone has made over and over and over today as I meet new bloggy friends and respond to new bloggy messages.

It is every bit as mysterious glowy gold as I thought it would be.

I. Am. Freshly. Pressed.

Yes.

Now. As I have been saying all day long, ” On to the next thing.”

Let’s all, Go. Do that!

pressed

Thanks WordPress. This is a super fun ride. I’m not getting off anytime soon.

21 responses to “Press. — That Almost Wasn’t. Now On To the Next Thing.

  1. I was worried that being freshly pressed would send me a bunch of followers I wouldn’t normally care for because, as I knew would happen, that post was one of my less typical “melancholy” posts. I made sure my next post had lots of F bombs and fat people references so that new people could run off upon seeing the real me and it’s worked out well! This blogging stuff really has been great though.

  2. Hope you don’t get off any time soon! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the wisdom! I think that’s most blogger’s struggle but the key is realizing that you need to connect with others and that’s what it’s all about – making connections 🙂

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thanks…I agree. I’ve made some great connections through this blogging world. And that is ultimately what it is about…not the Stats page or the number of followers, but about finding your voice and your tribe! Thanks for visiting!

  3. Lead Our Lives says:

    Congratulations, Sharon. Well earned. Well done. Rock on, mommyverbs! 😉

  4. tqdcamille says:

    Congrats! I was Freshly Pressed earlier this year and was giddy as well. There is something about that little blue badge, isn’t there 🙂 Enjoy your time in the spotlight!

  5. rarasaur says:

    Rock on! It’s so well-deserved and I’m glad you were spotlighted. 😀 I hope it brought a few new friends your way!

  6. A. Nelson says:

    Rejoice! So glad Mommy Verbs is getting this well-deserved attention!

  7. it brought me to your post! your words are delightful!

  8. Jan Francis says:

    Go mommyverbs!. I’m your biggest fan (and I don’t mean that in the creepy “Misery” way! 🙂

  9. Irvine P. Freeley says:

    Awesome!

  10. panikikubik says:

    Congratulations! Your blog is really great. Love the idea with mommyverbs

  11. Congrats on capturing your unicorn! I’m still chasing mine… 😉

  12. 43fitness says:

    Fabulous work, and SO well deserved. You are impressively committed to your blog and it really shows. Now everyone will know and enjoy (I hope you were impressed by my two action words, there) 🙂

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

