mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Share. — What Comes Easy….

on October 29, 2013

Halloween is not one of my favorite holidays. As a Mom, I feel like I’m always ready to skip over Halloween and get on with the stuff of Thanksgiving and Christmas. Halloween is a little detour full of candy and sugar and pumpkins and costumes and usually involves me having to walk around after dark, in the cold.

As a Mom, you know that I put on a good show for the kiddos though and try to keep my true feelings about All Hallow’s Eve Hoopla on the down low.

Because, I still remember what it was like to be a kid and I wouldn’t do anything to keep them from making these kinds of memories and learning these kinds of lessons.

When I was a kid, I was just like every other kid. I loved Halloween. I loved Halloween so much that my school colors growing up were actually orange and black. Ok. I had nothing to do with that, but it is true. Orange and Black. So it was kind of like Halloween all year long.  But on October 31st, I loved the chance to go door to door, collecting candy taxes. It was like an annual food drive, only for me and only for sugar.

I remember one Halloween night, out walking the streets with my Mom and brother and about 300 of my closest friends. I was probably 10 years old or so and there was a group of us moving from house to house together. I was dressed up as, … honestly, I don’t remember. I will go with a princess. But I’m pretty sure that my brother was a bum. My memories sometimes run together, so I am not sure, but I think he was a bum for Halloween from ages 3-8. Mostly, because I don’t think he cared and it was such an easy costume. Dress him up in older ratty clothes. And then I vaguely remember my Mom burning the bottom of a plate to create some kind of smudge that she could wipe on his face and make him look dirty.

Even though I can’t remember the costumes, I will never forget that we were carrying large brown paper bags for the loot collection.

As we were walking and laughing and playing around going from house to house. I remember spotting candy on the ground. Candy. A lollipop. Then a Hershey’s Kiss. A KitKat there. A Reese’s Cup here. Just lying there in the street. What? I looked up. Did it fall from heaven? Was this that magical manna that I had heard about in Sunday school? It simply must be.

So. Having hit the lottery of childhood, I started collecting it as we walked. I started quietly, nonchalantly (so as not to draw attention to myself) picking it up off of the ground and selfishly putting it into my bag.

It was so easy. I was so excited! I was getting candy from the doors AND candy from the street. Some pieces here. Some pieces there. Lucky, lucky me!

At the end of the night, as we rounded the corner and headed back to our house, I was more than pleased with my night’s work.

Just as I was struggling to lift my bag to dump it out on to the kitchen table to be checked, my little brother was discovering that … yep, you guessed it, there was a hole in his bag and a lot of his candy had fallen out.

Fortunately for him I had been collecting it all night.

My Mom made me put our piles together and divide it evenly. Even though I protested saying that some of the candy at the bottom was mine and made the very mature ten-year-old argument that I could tell which pieces I had picked up off of the ground that were his pieces.

She made me share.

See. It was too easy.

Candy on the ground…who does that?

When things are too easy, we don’t appreciate it. We get greedy and we want more.

When we have to work for something. When we have to wait and anticipate and grow our collection one by one,

then each piece is more special.

Each person. Each friendship. Each experience has a story.

When we work for something and build it a little bit day by day, it means more.

Maybe it is not supposed to be easy.

We are not supposed to get everything we want when we want it.

X doesn’t get to be the Star Helper and Line Leader every day…but he looks forward to his turn, he’s even adding it to his prayers at night.

Y doesn’t always get to play first base…but if she works hard and impresses the coaches with her leadership and positive attitude, then she gets to play it more.

Felix doesn’t always get what he wants. I don’t always get what I want.

Sometimes we get lucky.

And sometimes we have to work for it.

And ultimately, we have to share.

Let’s all, Go. Do that.

Today’s Action Challenge: Share. Go share something with someone else. Anything. A cookie. A cup of coffee. An hour. Go share with someone else. See how it makes you feel.

FYI...Don't get too excited. This is from a few year's ago, before we gave up on the whole sugar thing. Kiddos are getting glow in the dark goodness from me this year.

FYI…Don’t get too excited. This is from a few year’s ago, before we gave up on the whole sugar thing. Kiddos are getting glow in the dark goodness from me this year.

5 responses to “Share. — What Comes Easy….

  1. geanieroake says:

    Wise words. It’s so true, we don’t really appreciate something unless we have to work for it. Great post.

  2. Jan says:

    Thanks for not only saving the memories of your children’s childhood, but also, for remembering the memories of you and S’s childhood. I am glad that I’m remembered in these memories. 🙂

  3. skpadilla says:

    I so feel this piece. I loved Halloween as much as the next kid, but as an adult I’m so not into it. Not the costumes and not the candy. I am sort of looking forward to taking my kids treat or treating for the first time on Thursday (they are 3 and 6), but dreading the inevitable sugar meltdown and squabbling.

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

