mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Stop. — Talking About It and Do It.

on October 24, 2013

I talked about wanting to get a tattoo for 10 years.

For 10 years, this was on my To Do list.

For 10 years, I thought about what I would get and where I would get it.

For 10 years, I would think about when would be a good time.

For 10 years, I was afraid of how it would hurt or mostly what other people might think.

But it wasn’t until my best friend/partner/hubby looked at me and very lovingly and sincerely said with a smile,

“Either do it, or stop talking about it.”

That is when I decided that 10 years is a really long time to be talking about doing something.

And a new mantra was born.

But even on the morning of my appointment, as a friend and I entered the place, I was still unsure. I wanted the experience of getting a tattoo. I can’t explain it. Just something I have always wanted to do. And there are some things that you have to do at a certain time in your life. Like move to Huntington Beach, California, surf during the day and work in a restaurant at night. Or live in NYC for a few months during college. I didn’t do those things.

I went to college just a few miles from my house. I lived at home freshman year. I came home whenever I wanted to. I swore I would get a job far away. I applied to NY city schools and schools in California and near the beach. And then… I was offered a job right back in my hometown. That was it. No surfing. No Broadway. I did what was expected.

Which is fine, because I love where I am. I love my life. And by love, I mean, LOVE. I love my family and my career and my world. But there are still things that I want and need to do. The tattoo was one of those things.

No matter how you feel about tattoos, I’m sure that there is something that you have been talking about doing. Something you have been talking about doing for a long time.

Going some place. Running some race. Taking some chance.

Maybe we shouldn’t walk around so worried about the “what ifs” and the “what will they thinks” and the “I wish I hads” and “when the time is right” and “when I have more money” or “when I retire” or “when the kids grow up” and instead….

just… do. Do the thing that you have been wanting to do.

I’m not saying go crazy here. I’m not saying quit your job or jump out of an airplane without a parachute.

I think if you are really listening to your heart, that thing you want to do, makes sense.

So, of course, consider the consequences. Then make a plan. Do it wisely. But actually do it.

Stop making excuses. Stop being afraid. Stop worrying. Stop waiting.

Either do it. Or stop talking about it.

Let’s all, Go. Do that.

Today’s Action Challenge: What have you been talking about doing forever?

Is it taking a trip to a special place with a special loved one? Is it writing a book or an article? Is it taking a class or learning a new skill?

Whatever it is that you have spent so much time thinking and talking about…

What would it look like, if you just did it?

Right now, write down the thing, the trip, the race, the project that you have been talking about.

Then, write down three, just three steps you can take that gets you closer to action.

Don’t just put IT on your bucket list for some day.

Today. Make a plan of action. Today.

Let’s all, Go. Do that.

do it or stop

And know that lessons sometimes come from some of the least expected places.

6 responses to “Stop. — Talking About It and Do It.

  1. Lead Our Lives says:

    Inspiring! 😉

  2. Jan Francis says:

    Okay (deep breath) I’m going to start cooking. 🙂 Not just throwing something together to eat but really seriously cooking.

  3. I did 2 of my things this year – now I need to add to my list. I got my tattoo…I ran in Mud Hero (and survived). What next?? 🙂

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

