mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Tag. — Another Trip Around the Sun.

on October 13, 2013

Here we go.

It is that time again.

Time to count down to my 41st birthday.

41st Birthday tagIn 41 days.

Time to count down to another trip around the sun.

Last year, I adopted the phrase, “Enjoy the Day” and tried to make it mine. Take care and Enjoy the day. Thanks and Enjoy the day. The idea was to bring focus to really enjoying each and every day. There’s nothing wrong wth that. Let’s really be intentional about finding times in our days to enjoy. Have fun with. Notice. Pay attention.

However, on my journey toward imperfect progress (Thanks, Unglued), otherwise known as my 40 Days to 40 adventure countdown, Enjoy wasn’t a strong enough word. Enjoy implied a sense of passiveness. Sit back and enjoy the show. Watch it. Appreciate it. Smile at it. Marvel at it.

It’s not enough.

41st birthday butto

In my professional life, I am constantly talking to folks about actively engaging students in their learning. As a matter of fact, for those who know my work, I was talking engagement before engagement was cool. Whoever does the most work, learns the most. Students have to be actively engaged in their own learning in order to get the most out of it. I swear I say that every day.

That is what I want to do each day. I don’t want to just enjoy the day. I want to engage it. I want to engage with it. I want to get dirty and make a mess with it. I want to mess up and make it right. I want to pay attention, but actively give attention to it. I want to be an active participant with each day. I want to notice it, but also make a note of it.

I’m here to do the work. I want to learn the most. Therefore, the tagline continues for this 41st trip around the sun.  41-birthday-is

Engage the Day.

Let’s All, Go. Do that.

Challenge: Find your tagline.

A tagline is a small amount of text that identifies your theme. It is catchy, attention-grabbing, but simple. It should clarify your thoughts, feelings, values and make you stand out from the rest. Businesses have been using taglines since advertising was born. We remember the good ones. We identify with them and it somehow makes us a little more brand loyal.

Can you name the business or product that goes with these?

1. Are you in good hands?

2. Just do it.

3. Always low prices

4. That was Easy

5. Melts in your mouth, not in your hands.

6. Eat fresh.

7. It’s everywhere you want to be.

8. Can you hear me now?

9. Good to the last drop.

10. No rules. Just right.

So. What is yours? What is YOUR tagline?

Your motto. Your jingle. Your call to action.

What is it? How do you sign your notes and emails? What is your message? What do you want to leave people with as you say goodbye? How do you want them to remember you?

Call in your marketing team and have a little brainstorming session. Anything goes. Just start writing down the things you hear yourself saying already. Your tagline is there. Somewhere in those words, those thoughts, those values, those priorities that you already know. You just have to find it.

Try on a few until you find one that is right. The one that feels just perfect for you. You’ll know it when you find it.

Then own it. Be known for it.

Engaging each day with action words,

MommyVerbs

insert tagline

One response to “Tag. — Another Trip Around the Sun.

  1. Jan says:

    I think my tagline is “Help someone today.”

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

