mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Make. — Mexicali Soup for the Tired Working Momma’s Soul.

on October 12, 2013

mexicali bowl

I’m discovering today that….

All I really need to know… about being a Tired Working Momma…

…I could have learned from a favorite childhood book, called Mexicali Soup.

So, I’m thinking about creating a new MommyVerbs series for you:

Mexicali Soup for the Tired Working Momma’s Soul.

Mexicali Soup was my favorite book growing up.

I’m not sure I can tell you exactly why. It might have been the pictures and the story. Or maybe it was because of the way my Momma read it to me. But I seem to recall liking it a lot, too, because it was long, so it stalled bedtime a little more.

Seems I might have been a lot like X and Y in that regard.

I hadn’t thought of this book in years, until my Momma mentioned it after I wrote a post about my X and the rocking chair.

And then. I couldn’t think of anything else. I couldn’t wait to get home and find this book. I knew I had just seen it…but where?

There it was, on the bookshelf, right where I placed it in a special spot, to make sure it was always safe and sound.

It was written by Kathryn Hitte and William D. Hayes,illustrated by Anne Rockwell. Printed n 1970.

mexicali cover

Mine is in three pieces. The front cover. All of the pages fortunately still nicely glued together. And the back cover with a Rosie the Robot sticker that I must have foolishly put on it years ago, before I knew what a treasure it was.

My mom looked it up online and discovered that the only copies available are selling for more than $75.00.

Of course, to me, it is priceless.

And now, speaks to me more than it did when I was a kid.

Because.

It is about a Momma.

It is about a Tired Working Momma.

It is about a Tired Working Momma who wants the best for her family.

It is about a Tired Working Momma who wants the best for her family which includes eating well, with the best, freshest ingredients.

mexicali veggies

It is about a Tired Working Momma who is trying to balance wants and needs.

It is about a Tired Working Momma who wants to help her family fit in.

It is about a Tired Working who also wants her family to understand that is okay to stand out.

It is about a Tired Working Momma who learns that she can’t please everyone all the time.

It is about a Tired Working Momma who teaches her family that if one by one, we leave out the spice of life, we are going to end up with a bowl full of lukewarm water.

Sure. It is easy if we leave everything out.

But it doesn’t taste very good.

And another important lesson …

If Momma stops humming…it usually means trouble.

Mexicali Momma

4 responses to “Make. — Mexicali Soup for the Tired Working Momma’s Soul.

  1. skpadilla says:

    I cannot wait to put my hands on this book for many reasons. I don’t know it, and it sounds like a perfect addition to our library.

  2. Jan says:

    Thanks for the walk down memory lane. 🙂 It was so good to see the beautiful illustrations again. I didn’t analyze it when I was reading it to my children. I just thought it was a fun book to read and had a good moral (the thinking in the 70s). I remember sometimes trying to skip pages to end it quickly but I was always busted! 🙂 Of all the books I read to my children, this was their favorite and quite frankly, the only one I can remember. And looking at you today, “There’s a certain symmetry to that.”

  3. Stacy says:

    Cook! Could you please give the original recipe that was in the book? I too had this book in my life as a child and I have been searching for the recipe.

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

