mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Audition. — Keeping it real because it has to be better than that time in 9th grade…

on September 21, 2013

In the spring of my freshman year in high school, I auditioned for the school Talent Show.

With a little help from my friends, we built a huge cardboard Yellow Submarine. We painted it. We decorated it. We cut out the porthole windows so that they could open and shut.

Why there are no existing pictures of this masterpiece, I will never understand.

It was…brilliant.

And we all crouched down behind the yellow cardboard submarine, waited for the Ringo classic to blast through the old auditorium and then we auditioned. We lip-synched our hearts out all the while performing stellar choreography that included synchronous opening and shutting of the little cardboard porthole windows that we could stick our heads through. I think we were just about to stand up and do a dance while pretending to be ‘swabbing the deck’ … ahem, yes, of the submarine. (I know, I’m shaking my head right now, too)… when we heard it.

The gong.

Yes, we were “gonged” off of the stage during the live audition. I think I even heard the announcer say something clever like, “They’re going down…..”

Yeah. Clever.

So, when I decided about 20 minutes ago to audition for something else…I can only hope this goes better than that.

I’m auditioning to be on Blogger Idol 2013!  Because #writersarethenewrockstars! (Do hashtags work on blogs?! I don’t care, I’m doing it anyway because I play fast and loose with punctuation AND symbols.)

And because MommyVerbs is all about:

Doing my own therapy on the cheap, as a working Momma, a newly tattooed and just turned 40 year old who enjoys writing about life with X and Y while playing fast and loose with punctuation…engaging each day…one action word at a time.

I gotta tell ya, that I’m going to audition and keep it real at the same time.

Yes, I’m a blogger. But I’m a blogger in real time, in real life, in the real world.

I don’t have a fancy computer and a fancy office with a fancy, comfy chair in a secluded quiet part of my house where I can steal away and have focused time to write.

Nope. As we speak, I’m leaning on the kitchen counter where the computer lives, looking at the clock, knowing that I have about 10 minutes to get this done. I’ve just come from the bathroom where the five year old boy child ‘needed my help’…don’t ask, really, don’t ask…and I’ve now reminded the girl-child for the 4th time that she needs to go hop in the shower and wash that bird nest that is currently sitting on the top of her head because she has Girl Scouts in about 45 minutes. No one has eaten breakfast and the sink is full of dishes from last night. I’m still in my pjs and robe and I’ve got a list a mile long of things that we need to accomplish today.

So, sure, this seems like a fabulous time to stop everything and blog about my audition to be in the Top 12 of Blogger Idol 2013. Right?!

But if you want to know what MommyVerbs is all about….this is it. Mommy Blogging in real time. In real life. In the real world.

One action word at a time.

This morning…it just happens to be … Audition.

Blogger Idol 2013. It is bound to be epic. And if by some crazy yellow submarine inspired miracle, I actually make it into the Top 12…be prepared to hear a lot about it. I’ll be begging asking for your votes… did I mention, a lot?!

So, while I’m tagging and linking and tripping over the million trucks that the boy-child just lined up in my kitchen around my feet, I challenge you to do something spontaneous today. Something silly. Something on the fly.

Take a chance. Build a yellow submarine with a little help from your friends.

Play more.

Let’s all, Go. Do that.

Me? I’m auditioning for the Top 12 of Blogger Idol 2013!

Because I do believe…Writers ARE the new Rock Stars!

Since there is no documentation of the Yellow Submarine fiasco, here's the next closest thing ... our family Beatles walk. Yeah. That happened. But since I need a new computer and some shock-flash thing wasn't working, I couldn't do magic with this picture on PicMonkey. Did I mention I blog in real time? And now we are going to be real-time late for Girls Scouts...ack. Enjoy the day!

Since there is no documentation of the Yellow Submarine fiasco, here’s the next closest thing … our family Beatles walk. Yeah. That happened. But since I need a new computer and some shock-flash thing wasn’t working, I couldn’t do magic with this picture on PicMonkey. Did I mention I blog in real time? And now we are going to be real-time late for Girls Scouts…ack. Enjoy the day!

12 responses to “Audition. — Keeping it real because it has to be better than that time in 9th grade…

  1. Funny you wrote this as I often wonder how others blog or find time to do it. I sneak them in at work or have to stay up late sometimes which sucks! Good luck with that Idol thing. I entered too!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Awesome! Good Luck to you, too! I didn’t even know about it until this morning, so it seemed as good a time as any! Honestly, I don’t know how I actually get the blogging done. It is random act of writing for sure! 🙂

    • MommyVerbs says:

      HEY YOU!!! Congratulations! I am so excited for you and will be cheering you on every step of the way!!! I feel like a friend is in the race now! 🙂

  2. Beverly S says:

    Beaming with excitement about your audition! I’ve been impressed with every post I’ve read and I’m certain you have a tremendous shot at the top 12!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thanks Beverly! I appreciate the support! I think it might be a long shot or as Remington Steele used to say, ” a snowball’s chance in hell”…but I would LOVE the chance to try! How fun could that be! (And bonus…they are going to choose 13…so maybe that could be my lucky number!)

  3. Beverly S says:

    PS: was my offspring part of that yellow submarine? i don’t remember…

  4. rarasaur says:

    I’ll be on your cheer team! 😀

  5. Lead Our Lives says:

    Go get’em Sharon! You’re an awesome and inspiring blogger! Cheering for you! 😉

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

