mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Does. — Act like a helping verb.

on August 25, 2013

The minister of the little church in the little town doing big things has recently asked this question:

What’s in your tackle box?  What do you use to help others?

Since I probably haven’t carried a tackle box since I was eight and going fishing with my grandpa on the Little River, I had to look elsewhere.  So, I’ve checked my pockets, dug through my purse, looked around my rooms.

And everywhere I look, I see them.

My proverbial tackle box is full of action words. Yep. Verbs.

Eight years ago, when I was busy nesting and being all creative and artsy, (read before I had any kiddos!) designing a theme for my daughter’s nursery, I had no idea that I was beginning a theme that would define my purpose.

Verbs. Action words.

I decorated her room with canvas kites, painted by me in different colors, each with a different verb. (See, before I had kids!)

Learn. Sing. Dance. Play. Read. Believe. Imagine. Dream.

Action words. Wishes for her. Challenges for her life.

Since her room is now all pink and full of horses and … other stuff… These now decorate the rest of my house. Play hangs above the toy box in the living room. Read holds the books in place on the bookshelves. Dream lives above my desk where I say I do my work. Sing and Dance hang out with my record collection.

Sometimes I don’t see these words. These literal calls to action. Sometimes they are just a part of the background.

Other times, they are screaming directions at me, telling me, reminding me what I should be doing.

When I forget.

And they remind me of all of my little mantras that I like to toss around casually and often:

“Eat well. Play more. Choose happy.” Or,

“Whoever does the most work, learns the most.” As an educator, I try to apply that concept daily, helping everyone actively engage in the work of learning. More of them, less of me. Or,

“A little less conversation, a little more action.” Ok, I stole this one from Elvis obviously and then turned it into my own:

“Either do it, or stop talking about it.”

That is what I love about this little church in this little town doing big things.

We’ve talked all summer about what Love Does. I’ve been trying to use this phrase around my house when my kiddos ask me things like, “Why do I have to pick up these toys or carry these dishes to the sink?” Instead of saying the good ol’ standard of “Because I said so”, I’ve been trying to replace it with “Because that is what love does. Love picks up the toys and helps a Momma out!”

And since I like to play it fast and loose with punctuation and words,  I changed the verbs and turned it into all of the actions that Love looks like, sounds like, feels like, moves like.  What love actually does. Love reaches. Love helps. Love lifts. Love carries. Love holds. Love shows. Love goes on and on.

But we need to remember, that “Does” is really its own verb. It is one of those cool little helping verbs. Helping us do the work of ___________________. (fill in the blank)

Family does. Church does. School does. Community does. Work does. Mission does.

Yesterday, Mommas and Daddies and Grandmas and Neighbors and Kiddos of all ages flocked to this little church to pick up backpacks full of supplies for school. Backpacks that had been filled by many hands who acted, who listened to the call, who purchased supplies, who stacked and sorted and counted, who unzipped and zipped, who organized and ‘spread-sheeted’ and color-coded, who greeted and welcomed and shared with some folks who needed a little help.

While Mr. Sauter, my 11th grade English teacher would tell me that sentence is grammatically incorrect due to the overabundance of commas and verbs,

It really is what this little church is about to me: A whole lotta action words.

(You know, I was curious and I have to admit that I didn’t go and actually count, instead I asked Google, so I can’t vouch for its accuracy. But it feels like it could be right, so I’ll share it.)

The word, “Go” is in the bible 1,542 times. In comparison, “Stay” is only there 62 times.

God tells us to go. He tells us to move.

Go. Do that. Go. Love. Go. Help. Go. Do.
Take your talents. You gifts. Your tools. And act.
What do you love to do? Do it. Help others as you can. Show up. Be kind. Help someone.
Do something.
With love. With intention.
Make it happen.
Go. Do what love does.
Be awesome.
helping verb
2 responses to “Does. — Act like a helping verb.

  1. Mandi says:

    Love this!! Love you!!

  2. Lead Our Lives says:

    Love-ly beliefs, sentiments and wisdom. 😉

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

