mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Trap. — And I keep falling for it again and again.

on July 29, 2013

My self-esteem has been taking a beating lately.

No. I’m not worried about the number on the scale. I’m fine with my swimsuit at the pool. I’m cool with my hair and my clothes and my personality traits.

So, take all of the typical self-esteem advice us women toss about and put it where the sun don’t shine.

Because none of that will help me now.

My low self esteem right now is all because of the boy-child.

Yep. All thanks to a five year old and a childhood game.

The boy-child has become exceptionally good at the old school game, Connect Four.

You know the one.  Red and Yellow checker pieces. Vertical board. Drop the checkers into the slots and … name of the game… connect four in a row to win! Vertically. Horizontally. Diagonally.

Sounds easy enough. Except there is actually a lot of strategy involved.

And did I mention that the boy-child has gotten pretty good at this game? Not just playing.

He has gotten really good at winning.

But … not just winning, the kid has gotten really, really, REALLY good at setting traps in order to win.

So good in fact that I have been trying to figure out if he can get some kind of college scholarship out of this or if there is any money at all in the Connect Four tournament world.

Hey, don’t judge. Everyone’s gotta pull their weight around here. 🙂

Seriously, pay no attention to the scheme of making money off of our offspring, the kid is really, really good.

As in, we can’t beat him. At least not often.

I’ve done a little looking and discovered that there is actually a lot of research that has taken place over this little unassuming Milton Bradley game. Entire studies and papers and theses, from MIT no less, have been documented about the perfect playing and guaranteed wins by the first player. There are even wiki pages dedicated to the ‘how to win at connect four’ … (not that I Googled that or anything.)

1. Know the rules. Well, duh.

2. Know the good positions.

3. Pay attention to your opponent and react.

4. Copy your opponent’s moves.

5. Build traps. (The boy child is exceptionally good at this step.)

6. Recognize the mechanics of two players. And he seems to intuitively understand this.

All I know is that the kid is good.

And today, the kid set the same exact trap for me…twice.

And I fell for it…twice.

Check it out. He’s the yellow player. See what he did here?

trap

Yeah. That was the second time and he was eating a spoonful of peanut butter the whole time. While I was on the other side, really concentrating, focused, determined to give him a taste of his own medicine.

And I fell into his trap.

Again.

It’s a good thing he’s cute.

It’s also a good thing that I don’t have ALL of my self esteem wrapped up in winning.

I’m good at other things. Really. I am.

6 responses to “Trap. — And I keep falling for it again and again.

  1. rarasaur says:

    Haha! Googling Connet 4 tips = awesome. 😀 Your little one is a rockstar! 🙂

  2. Jan says:

    Seriously, I tried to beat him and fell into his traps. I think I beat him once because he was busy setting his trap and forgot to watch what I was doing…and I laughed and laughed with joy at beating my 5 year old grandson…He said “that won’t happen again.” And it didn’t! Geesh.

  3. 43fitness says:

    I used to love that game but have to admit I always sucked at it. Now my husband is another matter, and is probably related to your boy child in some fashion. But as my Aunt Skeeter used to say, “males are just not like other people”.

    • MommyVerbs says:

      That is so true! This whole thing is pretty wild. We get creamed by this kid and we are all really trying to win! He just sets up these little paths to the W each time. I even read that the first player usually wins…so we are now making him go 2nd and … he’s still winning! Young minds are amazing. Old minds…we are just more tired! Ha!

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

