mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Change. — What If Something is Different?! Gasp!

on July 24, 2013

first birthday candle

Happy First Birthday, MommyVerbs!

One year ago, I started on a journey. I decided that I would tell a few stories. Spend a few minutes writing about my new found focus on action words and verbs. I jumped into WordPress and figured things out as I went.  I asked for help and learned about widgets and sidebars and SEOs and tagging.

I didn’t know where this year would take us. Over the past year, this blog has become something that I am quite proud of. I have watched it grow up. We have played together. We have been through serious times. We have talked about dreams and made plans. And over the past year, we have become pretty close.

So, it only seemed fitting that on MommyVerb’s first birthday, I would get it a present.

Yes, to celebrate, it was time to get it a new look. Update the theme and make it a little fancier as we begin Year Two together.

But as you can see here, I haven’t been able to do this.

I’m scared.

I want to make a change. I have spent a lot … a LOT … of time looking at themes, picking out fonts and colors. A theme where you can see lots of verbs at once. Words and pictures. Stories and images.

But I can’t. I’m scared.

I’m scared that something will go wrong. Scared that I will lose everything that we have worked so hard to create.

What if I don’t like it?  What if my stats page goes quiet?

What if I can’t get the widgets to work the way they have been? What if my media library is emptied?

What if it is … gasp…different?

But isn’t that what change is about?

Decide.  Believe. Trust. Leap.

Once again,  a great collection of wonderful action words.

Which is what MommyVerbs is all about after all.

So…

Be on the lookout for a new MommyVerbs look…

maybe…

if I’m ever brave enough to make … this kind of a change.

Happy Birthday, MommyVerbs. Thanks for the inspiration to Eat Well. Play More. Choose Happy. 

*****************************************************************

What about you? How do you find the courage to make a change?

11 responses to “Change. — What If Something is Different?! Gasp!

  1. Lead Our Lives says:

    Congratulations! Yay!! Looking forward to change! 😉

  2. great post and photo. thanks for sharing interesting post with us.

  3. Melissa says:

    Awesome! Proud of you!

  4. Happy Birthday. Keep the party going! Leap! I did awhile ago (because I got bored) You’re also way ahead of me on the widgets, Seo, etc. So Proceed. Go. Be happy!

  5. rarasaur says:

    Happy birthday! 🙂 If something doesn’t work, you have my email and we’ll fix it. Brave the change. Trust yourself. Celebrate the way you deserve! 🙂

  6. Andrea says:

    Inspire. I’m inspired by you! You amaze me! I’m addicted to reading every post. I’ve made it so far to April, several more months of stories to make me laugh, cry, hope, think, do. Thanks 🙂

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Best. Compliment. Ever. Wow. Reading them all?! Some of my best besties haven’t done that! 🙂 As one good friend told me, “I would read them, but there are just so many of them!” Ha! It is a good thing that I already love her so much! Have fun and thanks so much for engaging in a few action words on this little journey!

  7. Happy birthday!!! There are few decisions that can’t be rectified–death being one of them. But since this is more of a re-birth, any decision will be the right one. We can be scared and brave 🙂

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

