mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Swim. Snack. S’more. Sleep?! Why can’t I be the cool Slumber Party Mom?

on July 13, 2013

card

All in, last night, I’m pretty sure I got less than 2 hours of sleep.

And those were not consecutive minutes … no, … just minutes added up together to make that  grand total.

You see, it was the girl-child’s slumber party last night. The one to mark her birthday.

It started at the pool, included a pizza dinner, continued at home with cake and ice cream, later outside with a campfire and s’mores and then finally into sleeping bags in a tent outside in the backyard.

The party was very MommyVerbs appropriate:

Swim. Snack. S’more. Sleep?! (Yes, I made S’more a verb. It really should be.)

I will be honest, I knew going in that the sleep part was questionable at best.

And yet, I still have this idealized version of the ultimate slumber party vision in my head.

The girls have a fabulous evening. I get them settled in and I head inside to sleep on the couch with the sliding glass door open, so I can make sure all is well. I listen to them talk and giggle and let them stay up to a respectable slumber party hour for 8 year olds, like even 2 hours past typical bedtimes. Then they each say their good nights and drift off to sleep, telling Y what a cool, hip Mom she has.  🙂

But…

That is not how it EVER turns out.

I have come to learn that my Y has Slumber Party SuperPowers .  She can stay up all night long and be the loudest and funniest kid until 6 a.m.  But we are all going to pay for her tiredness the next day. So, I try to balance it all.

So, at midnight, yes, MIDNIGHT…I head outside to tell the girls in my coolest, hippest Mom voice: “Really, no really, it is time to settle down and start that drifting off to sleep. Everyone is tired and it is time. I assured them we could play more in the morning. Good Night. Sweet Dreams. I love you all.”

Then at 12:30 a.m. I do the same thing. This time, I sit outside for 10 minutes and shush and ‘Shuusssh’ when they start talking again.

At 1:00 a.m. I add language like, “Girls. I’m done. It is time. Stop talking. Be still. Go to sleep.”

At 1:30 a.m., they all come running into the house because they think it has started to rain. I check. It hasn’t. Then I spend 1o minutes shushing them, reminding them not to wake the boys upstairs, as they all go to the bathroom … again.

At 2:00 a.m., I didn’t even go outside. I stood at the window and said, “Girls. Enough. E-N-O-U-G-H. It is time. No more talking. Go. To. Sleep.”

At 2:30 a.m., I still hear a few whispers and giggles and force myself to stay put and just let them get it out of their systems.

Then at 3:00 a.m….all is quiet in the tent…and so the dog that I have left outside to be with them, just in case of any critter mischief afoot…yep, starts to bark. Like mean, protective, something is in the dark, bark.

So, now I have to go outside and check on them, as they are all quiet and asleep. Before, I was begging them for quiet,  now the silence is just suspicious. Of course, I can’t get the dog to be quiet either and I can’t believe that they are now sleeping through the noisiest dog in the world.

I bring the dog inside to keep him from waking the girls and the dog now believes it must be playtime, so I fuss at him to lay still and be quiet, too.

I slept on the couch, with one ear open for whatever made the dog bark and caught a few cat naps in the meantime.

So now I’m up early, because it is almost easier to get less sleep at this point, and now I just feel bad. Because they weren’t doing anything. They weren’t egging houses or toilet papering trees. At least I don’t think they were…I mean, I haven’t been outside yet. But they are eight. And they are really good girls.

At most, they were laughing and talking and giggling, I think there was talk of their ‘crushes’ and maybe some innocent version of a Truth or Dare game might have been played.

I have some of my own classic slumber party memories. The ones where we stayed up all night. Talked about boys and bras and Judy Blume books. I don’t remember the Moms coming in and shuushing us, but then, I have to believe that they did. Of course, they did, right?!

And the fact that I don’t remember the Moms’ role in this, gives me hope that when these crazy kids wake up here in a little bit, with the sun and the birds chirping and their little brothers who slept upstairs in beds and who now want their turn in the tent … maybe, just maybe, while I’m making them the requested smoothies and strawberries with whip cream and pancakes…maybe, …

they will still think I am a cool, hip Mom. And they will remember their giggles and adventures, more than my shusshing.

But just in case, I may help them make those those letter bead bracelet crafts, I got for them, … just to raise my hip factor a little bit more.

🙂 Happy Birthday, Y! You have some super awesome friends! 🙂

Let’s hope they will come back again next time! Ha!

****************************************************************************************************

I’m curious…what kind of Slumber Party Parent are YOU?! Do you just go to bed and let what will be, be? Or do you still try to provide some guidance, i.e. when to go to sleep?!

8 responses to “Swim. Snack. S’more. Sleep?! Why can’t I be the cool Slumber Party Mom?

  1. Jan says:

    I’m pretty sure that I shushed and maybe even yelled a bit during your slumber parties! Don’t be hard on yourself. That’s part of their fun…. 🙂

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Good point. I do remember at many parties, playing the “Quick, get quiet, act like you are asleep…here she comes!” game. Yeah. You are right. That was fun. 🙂

  2. genext13 says:

    I think putting them in cones of silence might be appropriate, but that would not be very cool, would it?

    • MommyVerbs says:

      I don’t know…those were supposed to be way cool on Get Smart back in the day…but they never did work quite right, did they? 🙂 I like where you were going with that though. Fortunately, the little bead bracelets and a little duct tape jewelry making did the trick. Do you know about the duct tape jewelry phenomenon? It’s quite the rage with the 10 and under set. 🙂

  3. I am NOT a slumber party Mom (and the only time I’m thankful I don’t have a girl b/c they tend to want it more). I’ve lived through a couple – I shushed once – the boys listened! Of course, I threatened to send Hubby down and that scared them! I’ve lived through slumber parties as a kid and we had some wild times (even when the parents shushed)! Take a nap – you’ve earned it! 🙂

    • MommyVerbs says:

      I adore you. You make me giggle. I think you are right about the boys…the boy child ended up having a neighbor friend spend the night, too. I put them upstairs in his room, went up there one time, when they were roaring at each other pretending to be lions…shuushed them and then they were out for the count. Boys might be easier when it comes to slumber parties. Nap taking is about to begin…

  4. mollytopia says:

    You just described the exact slumber party Anna had a few weeks ago! I shushed them 900 times, and then slept maybe three hours myself before getting up to be a short order cook. I think you and I are fun slumber party moms, right up until we’re exhausted and want to stab people : ) Great job on hosting a tent party (brave!) – you have a year to recover, hooray! I hope you get a nap in today.

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

