mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Commit. — Jump in? Or run away?

on July 1, 2013

commit

I was watching the girl and boy child play in the waves yesterday.

I’m sure many of you will know how this goes.  You drive a million hours to get to the beach. The kiddos sleep most of the way there, which of course is awesome. You arrive at the house you have rented for the week and you immediately start thinking about unpacking and getting groceries and getting settled in for some vacation time. You are exhausted from the packing and the traffic and the nonsense of long distance travels.  The kiddos are amazingly refreshed, however.  And they want to go swimming. Now.

So, I stopped carrying in the bags and stopped making the lists and I just took the kiddos to the beach. I’ll be honest. I wanted to see it and feel it and be there just as much as they did.

We ran/walked down the wooden path, up the stairs, over the dunes…

And there…there it was. Just where I left it a few months before… my ocean.

The powerful waves. The peaceful, reassuring sound. The salt air. The refreshing breezy wind that gives me that fabulous beach hair.

And even though I gave the kiddos the proverbial warning: “Don’t get wet!” …

We all know exactly what happens next. They start with their toes. Dipping them in just to feel it out just a little. There’s a collective squeal, followed by lots of running back and forth from the sand to the surf.

Next, they have their feet in up to their ankles. Then before you know it, they are knee deep, even though the water is icy cold at this point.

And…oops, now their shorts are soaking wet and well, they might as well play now. They are already wet! 🙂

Which of course, I expected, … so play on, kiddos.

And I. I soaked it all in. I sat and watched them. As the waves came crashing in, one after the other. I watched as they both eyed the same incoming wave, each independently weighed their options, and made a decision: jump or retreat.

They decided. They committed to their decision and they followed through. Each in their own way.

Done. Simple.

Assess the situation. Set a goal. Make a decision. Commit. And Act.

There’s a lesson there for all of us.

So, MommyVerbs readers: Dip your toes in. Try it out. If it is for you…jump in.

If it feels wrong…run away.

Either way.

Commit. And Act.

7 responses to “Commit. — Jump in? Or run away?

  1. Lead Our Lives says:

    Life lessons here…lovely! Have fun!

  2. Jan says:

    Oh I love how you see things so clearly …. and document it for everyone forever. 🙂 Love you all. Have fun!!!

  3. Karen says:

    Excellent post. Really really great advice. Sometimes all you need is a kid’s perspective, everything just is. You either are or you aren’t, there are a lot less things weighing on a decision. It’s refreshing to be reminded just to go for it!

  4. I’ve decided I like jumping in (except for the initial shock of it sometimes)! It’s much more fun than watching! I’m homesick for the beach – I just hope it won’t be another 13 years before I get back! 🙂

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

