mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Try. Or Tri. As in…I did it! Part One.

on June 6, 2013

I told you the story about Felix participating in his very first triathlon a few weeks ago. If you haven’t read it, be sure to check it out here:

Swim. Bike. Run. — Three Verbs b/c It Is Just That Cool.

It is a story about his experience in the pool, on the bike and then on foot, sure. But it could also have been titled, “How to Entertain a Five Year Old During a 24 Hour Experience That Is NOT About the Five Year Old.” But that seems like a really, really long title.

It is also a little bit about Bacon. It is. I know, I’m shaking my head, too.

Go on. Go read that one. … I’ll wait here for you to come back…

….

I’m so happy to see you again!

So, once again, just about two weeks ago, Felix casually asked me if I would like to do a triathlon in a nearby town along with him.

Casually, like, probably at dinner time while I’m retrieving a glass of milk for a short person while negotiating just how many bites he has to eat before he is excused, while simultaneously keeping the dog from eating the pair of socks that I told the girl child to put in the hamper along with trying to answer an email on my phone about a date that I may or may not be able to make a meeting.

So, in that very casual moment, I very casually replied to the voice in the other room, “Yes. Yes I do.”  And went on with my usual evening multi-tasking routines.

The next day, I received an email indicating that I had been registered for the triathlon taking place in a few days.

Ummm. Wait. What? For Reals?…as the kids say.

So I did what every triathlete does two weeks before a big competition.

I just tried not to think about it.

Really. I didn’t run. I didn’t go to the aquatic center and practice swimming. I didn’t get on my bike and go for a ride.  Ok, we did go for one bike ride but with the kiddos on the trail. But I was more focused on making sure people weren’t wrecking or going too fast, or trying to make sure they weren’t complaining or moaning and groaning about being hot or thirsty or tired. So, I’m not really sure that can be called training of any sorts.

Before I knew it, the date was here. It was real. It was the day before. I didn’t have a swimsuit. I didn’t have a road bike. I didn’t have a plan.

So. Literally the day before. Felix rented a bike for me. He did send me a picture of it as he left.

The day before. I went to a sporting goods store in search of some kind of a swimsuit that I could then run in as well.

The day before. I started thinking about the transitions and what I would need to make sure I pack.

Goggles. Towel. Swimsuit. Socks. Running Shoes. Running Pants. T-shirt to Run in. Bike Helmet. Sunglasses. Sports watch. (Do I have one? I used to…where is it?! Is it water proof? hmmmm…)

The day before. I started to get anxious.

The day before. I posted my goals on facebook for the world to see and hold me accountable for.

1. Don’t Drown.

2. Finish in less than two hours.

3. Don’t come in last.

The night before I laid everything out. Confirmed plans for the kiddos for the early morning — Thanks Mom! Then headed to bed.

I had a dream about the swim. I dreamed that I got started, but by the second lap, I was getting tangled up in the lane ropes. I was all mixed up in these strings in the pool, trying to untangle and swim at the same time. I could feel myself struggling. I was getting overwhelmed. I was fighting in the water and feeling anxious.

And then the alarm went off.

But in those first moments, I somehow knew everything was going to be ok.

Because the song playing on the radio told me so. The first words I heard playing were from the song called, “Home” by Philip Philips.  (Here’s the video…the song is great!)

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m gonna make this place your home

The morning of the triathlon. I started to get excited.

The morning of the triathlon. I started to settle down.

The morning of the triathlon. I started to feel determined.

The morning of the triathlon. I started to get my game face on.

….. to be continued…..

Part Two: Keep Calm and Swim, Bike, Run On.

Or.

How NOT to Quit Your First Triathlon in the First 75 Meters of the Swim! 

5 responses to “Try. Or Tri. As in…I did it! Part One.

  1. Lead Our Lives says:

    Ok…can’t think of a verb! Can’t wait for part 2! I feel like I’m reading a book and have to hurriedly put it down to handle an interruption and now I can’t wait to get back to it! 😉

  2. Wriggle…because I can’t wait for part 2! Go girl!

  3. […] Try. Or Tri. As in…I did it! Part One. Jun […]

  4. […] Try. Or Tri. As in…I did it! Part One. (mommyverbs.wordpress.com) […]

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

