mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Fire. — Balloons. Iron Man 3 and Birthday Cake. It Must Be Pentecost.

on May 19, 2013

Happy Birthday, Church.

I love my little church in a little town doing big things.

I have to admit that I am not in attendance every given Sunday. Sometimes we are out of town. Sometimes my people are under the weather. Sometimes life gets in the way. Other sometimes I don’t have a good excuse for missing.

But then…when I am there, I always wonder why I ever miss at all.

First of all, my kids love this place. Which makes me happy. I loved going to church when I was a kid. Fellowship Baptist Church was like a second home to me we were there so often.

My kids also love that there are yummy things to eat there that they don’t get at home any more. Things like Bagels, muffins, and apple juice. (And we know that X has strong feelings about communion.) And there is an indoor playground. But more than that, they have made friends there. They love to play and hang out with some buddies that they only see when in this little church.

Then the service begins with some announcements and then three songs. Three songs that lift my spirit. Played by a rocking band of amateur musicians who volunteer their time and talent whenever they can. The players change, but the songs always inspire. I am not sure I can completely describe how I feel during these 12 minutes. But it is healing, refreshing, stress-reducing, energizing, soul-lifting, and more. I feel … better. No matter what my week was like, no matter my worries, my stresses, my fears or concerns…I feel better. The music is loud, so loud that I can sing loud and not hear my off-key notes. They display the words so I can sing along at the top of my lungs. Those words are moving, powerful, and somehow seem always meant for me. I don’t know how they do it, but it is always a playlist meant for me.

Then a little rendition of “Jesus Loves Me” brings the kiddos to the front for a children’s message. This is both sweet and chaotic. There is a microphone that is passed around and the kiddos get a chance to share things  they are excited about. My kiddos used to be so shy that they never spoke up. Now I hold my breath just a little to see if they share some random story. Today, X revealed that his Daddy is taking him to see Iron Man 3. Poor Kid, doesn’t know that we’ve screened it already and have deemed it just a tad bit violent for his little 5 year old eyes.  Looks like it will be a Redbox Rental with Mommy’s finger on the fast forward button for you, kid.

Then there is the message. If you are looking for fire and brimstone and squished toes, this may not be the right place for you.  I’m not sure, but some of us might just be deemed a bit liberal, non-traditional bunch. Because today our Minister managed to work in balloons, Iron Man 3, the chorus from Fall Out Boy’s “I Know What You Did in the Dark” and birthday cake into the sermon.

Because today was Pentecost. The birthday of the church.

The Day when the Holy Spirit came down. 50 days after Easter. The day we are supposed to renew ourselves to sharing, to being a community, to being called.  The day we are supposed to wear red as a symbol of a commitment to be on fire. To promise to go into the world and light ’em up, so to speak. To inspire others as we can. To share as we can. To do our best and be the best we can be.

The Day we are supposed to show we are on fire in our lives. And invite others to come and watch us burn.

Believe. Share. Inspire.

Let’s All, Go. Do That.

(Show Up. On Any Given Sunday. And Everyday After.)

5 responses to “Fire. — Balloons. Iron Man 3 and Birthday Cake. It Must Be Pentecost.

  1. Susan Frye says:

    AMEN!

  2. MommyVerbs says:

    Love your guts, my Frye! ❤

  3. I’m so glad that your little “band” inspires you and leads you into worship. Being a member of a little “band” and wondering how that happened (and knowing that we aren’t always appreciated or liked) can be discouraging. Thank you for reminding why I do it – to lift spirits to the Spirit. 🙂

    • MommyVerbs says:

      I didn’t know that you were ‘in the band!’ You are so cool. I hope folks let you know how much they appreciate and love you for sharing your time and talent. For what it is worth…I appreciate AND admire you. Thank you!

  4. […] Fire. — Balloons. Iron Man 3 and Birthday Cake. It Must Be Pentecost. May […]

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

