mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Motivate. — Who knew the power of a MommyVerbs post!?

on May 14, 2013

When I started this blog last year, I began on a journey to turn some daydreams into realities.  I wanted to inspire and motivate others to engage in the ‘verbs’ of their every day.

In short…. a little less conversation, a little more action. (Cue Elvis.)

Last night, MommyVerbs achieved just that.

A colleague and friend casually shared in passing conversation that she had been wanting to get a tattoo. I responded, “Why don’t you?”

All of her answers sounded so familiar, I felt like I could have been saying those words right along with her:

What if it hurts? What if I don’t like it? What if people judge me? My family doesn’t want me to do it. It is so … permanent!

And there it was. I told her that I said the exact same things before I got my 40th birthday, been talking about doing it since my 3oth birthday, tattoo last fall. But, I learned a lot from Carl…nothing is permanent.

Later that evening, I discovered a message from her, waiting for me:

“I have been wanting to get a Jesus fish for a longggg time and all the “what if’s?” stop me. It stops me in most of my big decisions. I love this and your story! You may have just given me the courage to go get “tatted up!” hee hee :-)

I replied in classic MommyVerbs style: “Go. Do what scares you just a little.”

And then…the very next day, another message:

“I did it! Just got home. I’m so excited! I did “what scares me…permanent”

Now there’s something I didn’t see coming when I started this blog. MommyVerbs is now an official encourager of folks to get their first tattoos! … Who’s next?!

A little less conversation. A little more action.

Mission accomplished I would say. And it only took her one day…took me 10 whole years.

Well done, you. Well done.

lauren tattoo

Isn’t it awesome?! Love it, Lauren!

6 responses to “Motivate. — Who knew the power of a MommyVerbs post!?

  1. Richelle says:

    Love!
    Yay Lauren and Mommy Verbs

  2. Lauren Wimbish says:

    I’m proud of myself. I made a huge decision and was brave! 🙂

  3. I have an appointment next week to meet with a tattoo artist…

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

