mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Versify. — A Nice Award and a Nice Way of Saying, “You Never Know What You are Going To Get.”

on April 28, 2013

`versatileblogger111

Genext13 has very graciously nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award. I love it! Thanks so much Genext13! I am so glad we decided to be friends! 🙂

If you haven’t had a chance to meet this blogger, you should stop by his page and check him out.  He’s a marathon runner, a Dad and likes Phinneas and Ferb.  He also appreciates a good superhero, which is probably how we met!

I love this award because I think it perfectly describes the mission of MommyVerbs.  Engage each day in action words. That is what I aim to do with these posts.  Some are silly. Some are serious. Some are reflective. Some are just me…talking about the day.  I try to pay attention and find the verb to describe the events of my days.

So I think the Versatile Blogger Award is a wonderfully nice way of saying, MommyVerbs is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you are going to get. And who doesn’t love a box of chocolates?

So, Thanks. Really.

The rules for the Versatile Blog Award are :

1. Display the award logo on your blog.

2. Thank and link back to the person who nominated you.

3. State 7 things about yourself.

4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award.

5. Notify these bloggers of the nominations by linking back to one of their specific blog posts so they get notified back.

Sounds manageable. Here goes.

7  random things about me:

1. I’m a list maker. Shocking, right? But I’m a little OCD about my lists.  I like to draw a little box to place a check in it when the task is complete. But I also like to mark out the task to show it is gone from my list. And please don’t write on my lists. It makes me a little nuts.  If my list gets too messy. I will copy it over and start again.

2. I cannot dive. As in dive into a pool.  I just can’t Fix It Felix, my best friend/partner/hubby, was a lifeguard back in the day and he has tried to teach me. But I haven’t mastered it yet. It may just be something that I never do. I’m okay with that.

3. My favorite tv show right now is The Americans. Which is very unlike me, because I do not like violent, scary-ish shows or movies.  But there is just something about watching Keri Russell aka Felicity, as a Russian KGB agent.  And I’m always intrigued by how she manages to keep her long locks always pulled over to one shoulder seemingly effortlessly. How does she do it?!

4.  I’m reading a book that is about to be released on May 9th.  I’ve never been a part of a new book marketing team, but I am super stoked about playing in this gang.   The book is called, Don’t Lick the MiniVan by Leanne Shirtliffe.  You might know her as the Ironic Mom. 

5.  In her book, Don’t Lick the MiniVan, Leanne tells about her twin kiddos writing their names on  her minivan. My Y did the same thing when she was three. She found a white rock and was so proud to show us that she had written her name on the hood of our car. She had no idea she was scratching her name on to our car. All Felix and I could do was look at each other, sigh, and then congratulate her on spelling it correctly and for her neat three-year old handwriting. At least now, we can always tell which car is ours.

6. I have a ton of shoes in my closet. I only like about 3 pairs. As a matter of fact, I don’t like most of my wardrobe. Are those two from that show where they come into your closet and throw everything in a garbage can, all the while insulting everything you have ever bought, only to send you shopping for new duds … still around? Feel free to nominate me for that. I can take the insults in exchange for the new outfits.

7.  I am right now at this very moment sitting with X and Iron Man, watching Shrek. It doesn’t get much more random than that.

Now on to the Nominations:

BonevivanteLife

Lead Our Lives

Memoirs of a Mom Who Ticks

Jenn’s Midlife Crisis

Ice Scream Mamma

She’s Losing It

Ironic Mom

Little Poppits

43Fitness

Life of Wonder

The B Bus

LimitlessLessons

renee a.schuls-jacobson’s blog

Grandma Says

rarasaur

boxofchocolates

I think you are all kinds of awesome.  I know some of you are crazy busy with life…so don’t feel overly obligated to complete this task. Just know that I love reading your posts.

And I would give you each a box of yummy organic dark chocolate as a “Thanks for Being Awesome and Versatile” gift.

12 responses to “Versify. — A Nice Award and a Nice Way of Saying, “You Never Know What You are Going To Get.”

  1. Lead Our Lives says:

    You and your blog are AWESOME! Congratulations to you! Thank you for the nomination, too! 😉

  2. Amy says:

    Thank you so very much! I will do my part as soon as I get the chance. We were just watching Shrek too but we turned it off for dinner and we are gearing up for the Good Luck Charlie season premiere. I don’t know who is more excited, me or the boys!

    Thanks again!!!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Too funny. Yes. We are all gathering ourselves for the Good Luck Charlie premiere here, too! Or as my hubby calls it: iCharly. 🙂 Enjoy! Gotta go pop some corn!

  3. Jan says:

    Congratulations!!!!!!

  4. 43fitness says:

    Congratulations on your well-deserved award!!! Thank you so very kindly for the nomination. I feel oh so fortunate to be running with such an elite bunch of writers like yourself, who manage to keep the ordinary anything but! Please don’t forget about us little people when you publish YOUR book 🙂

  5. mollytopia says:

    Congratulations – I’m so psyched for you – hooray!

  6. rarasaur says:

    Congratulations! You definitely versify! 😀

    Thank you for the chocolates and for passing on the award! 🙂 You are lovely!

  7. thank you so much for nominating me, but mostly for enjoying my blog. that makes me even happier than chocolate. @@> 🙂

  8. Congratulations!!! And THANK YOU for nominating me!!!

  9. Thanks for nominating me and I nominated you for an award too! (Great minds…)
    Congrats!
    http://sheslosingit.net/2013/04/30/7-things-you-might-find-useful/

    Lisa 🙂

    P.S. – Please “like” my FB page. I feel much more confident asking you to do this now that I’ve nominated you for an award. I’m all about bribery.

    http://www.facebook.com/ShesLosingItnet

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

