mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Escape. — Time To Do A Little Hiding, A Little Healing With Laughter.

on April 20, 2013

cottage

It has been a hard week.

Trust me, I am in no way, absolutely no way, comparing my week to those who are directly impacted and have had their lives forever changed by the events in Boston. I am heart sick for everyone and can barely pull myself away from the current events of seeking out the final evil suspect.

I will just simply say this: It has been a hard week.

Coincidentally, I am packing. Packing a few bags, trying to keep it simple. Bringing some drinks and some snacks. A silly gift for some friends. Coincidentally, I am packing a suitcase, to head out for our Fourth Annual SIS Mystery Trip Weekend with five of some of my favorite girls.

It reminds me of a similar escape a few years ago.

I remember the weekend after September 11th, 2001, we were supposed to attend and participate in a wedding of some of our friends.

For a few days, it was questionable whether or not the wedding would take place. After all, we were all in such unbelievable shock. To this day, I am so thankful that they said their vows that weekend.

For many reasons. Of course I’m thankful that they are in love and married. But their wedding allowed me the most beautiful escape weekend ever. At the best time ever.

We escaped to the cottage. Nothing fancy. Just beds, small kitchen and a river front. A huge window with a view of peace.

And no t.v. coverage. That weekend. We had had enough. We were so thankful to be able to turn it off. To turn off the images. To turn off the fear.

And just. Be.

This weekend. I will do the same thing.

A little escape. A little healing. A little laughter. With my little group of friends.

One response to “Escape. — Time To Do A Little Hiding, A Little Healing With Laughter.

  1. Regroup. Not really a great action verb, but so necessary at times like this, and I’m so grateful to have a weekend oasis between the difficult week we’ve had and back to school and work on Monday. Thanks for this lovely post, and for dropping by our blog, following, and Getting It. 🙂

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

