mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Answer. — “What I Did on my Lenten Vacation.”

on March 31, 2013

40 days ago, I set out to Prepare. during the Season of Lent. I wanted to answer a question:

“Is it well with my soul?”

And 40 days later, I’m realizing that may have been a slightly ambitious goal. To find the answer to that question in a mere 40 days. Really? What was I thinking?!

40 days ago, I said I would spend the time reflecting, appreciating and preparing. Instead of giving something up, I said I would try to crowd out what wasn’t working and add in some new.

I crowded out a morning routine that was making me a little crazy and added in a slower pace.

Which enabled me to crowd out some mindless timewasting to add in writing morning pages.

Those pages helped me realize I needed to crowd out some old insecurities and new fears and I added in some more reflecting, which led to more writing.

And ultimately, I was able to crowd out some year old bitterness and sadness, adding in some optimism which led to some peace.

So, what did I do over the past 40 days? I learned. I noticed. I recorded. I prayed. I reflected. I questioned. I realized. I dreamed.

I am thankful for so much. For sacrifice. For answered prayers. For opportunities. For possibilities. For abundance. For commitment. For crowding out and adding in. For Love.

And the answer to the question:

Is it well with my soul?

I think it is.

Happy Easter, Everyone.

Engage the day.

4 responses to “Answer. — “What I Did on my Lenten Vacation.”

  1. ginapoet says:

    Nice post. Thank you for sharing.

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thanks. I so appreciate you taking the time to comment. I’m looking forward…and excited about the next journey! Always more to learn about life, love, motherhood, dreams, passions… the list goes on! Engage the day!

  2. Lead Our Lives says:

    Beautiful. Love-ly. ❤

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

