mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Dye. — Mac n’ Cheese with a side of chemical crap. Only Available in the U.S.

on March 8, 2013

The more I read. The more I learn. The more angry I get.

And I’m not an angry person. I actually struggle with that emotion. I’m not good at it. I admire people that can get really, really mad about stuff, flash red and string curse words together with brilliance and flair. Not that I want to go around cussing people out–again, so not my style. I just appreciate their ability to feel all the feelings, including just really pissed off. There’s probably just as good therapy in ‘mad’ as in ‘meditation’ sometimes.

But lately, I find myself feeling more and more angry. And at the same time, more and more frustrated.

Why the hell have we set the bar so freakin’ low when it comes to our food supply in America?

(How’s my cursing? D+? C-?)

Seriously, here in the United States of America, we add crap to our food to make it last longer, grow bigger, look better. We spray crap on our food. We inject crap into our food. We take good, healthy stuff out of the food in order to make room for more crap.

We seemingly, unwittingly tolerate this from food companies. Not only do we tolerate it, we make it legal, encouraging them to do it.

I’m not the first to write about Genetically Modified Organisms and the benefits of organics. And I know I am WAY late to the party on this one.

And as a busy Momma, I don’t have the time and/or the energy to write a huge blog post here full of clever phrases, backed by research, worthy of being Freshly Pressed.

I’m more about the action words, remember?

So here’s what I’ve got time to share, in order to do my part and something healthy with this anger and frustration… before X and Y wake up and start their demands of needed things and the ‘day of busy’ officially begins:

Sharing from http://www.change.org/petitions/kraft-stop-using-dangerous-food-dyes-in-our-mac-cheese

“Kraft Macaroni and Cheese in the US contains the artificial food dyes Yellow 5 and Yellow 6. These unnecessary – yet potentially harmful – dyes are not in Kraft Macaroni and Cheese in other countries, including the UK, because they were removed due to consumer outcry. Kraft reformulated their product for the UK, but not for their fellow American citizens.”

And:

Artificial food dyes…

  • Are man-made in a lab with chemicals derived from petroleum (a crude oil product, which also happens to be used in gasoline, diesel fuel, asphalt, and tar).

  • Require a warning label in other countries outside the US.

  • Have been banned in countries like Norway and Austria (and are being phased out in the UK).

  • Yellow 5 and Yellow 6 are contaminated with known carcinogens (a.k.a. an agent directly involved in causing cancer).

  • Cause an increase in hyperactivity in children.

  • Have a negative impact on children’s ability to learn.

  • Have been linked to long-term health problems such as asthma, skin rashes, and migraines.

  • Add absolutely no nutritional value to the foods we are eating and are solely used for aesthetic purposes only.”

Good Grief. I know. If you are like me, you are probably counting how many boxes, how many times you have made this yummy treat for your family. And how much you have all enjoyed this wonderful comfort food that magically brings back your own childhood. But what it is coming down to these days, if it is cheap and it will last in our pantry until the proverbial zombies come out to play…it is probably not good for any of us.

Here’s the thing. DO NOT FEEL GUILTY. We work so hard to make sure that our kiddos get the sleep they need. We make sure they comb their hair and brush their teeth. We get them to school on time and run ourselves ragged making sure they can play ball and the piano. We are good. Good. Mommas.

It is not our fault that food companies think it is ok to add crap to our foods just to make it a little prettier on the plate in the two seconds before our kiddos inhale it at the dinner table. And this is not a judgement about the macaroni and cheese, it is about the crap that has been added to it, (available here in the US, but not in other countries), …. for no good reason.

But now we know. And while it is not my fault, I know I have to fight the urge to think that there is nothing I can do about it. Fight the urge to throw my hands up and say: “Even my Kraft Macaroni and Cheese is bad for my kids?! The epitome of Kiddo comfort foods?! I give up!”

No, if you are like me, you know you have to take some kind of action. Here are two easy things we can do in the next three minutes:

1. Boycott the little blue box for now. Make your own. I’ve put a recipe at the bottom of the blog. Super Easy. Your kids will love it just as much. Maybe you’ll have some fun making it together. There are others, too. Try ’em out. You might even enjoy using real cheese instead of that orange … powder… stuff (and come on, let’s be honest…didn’t that always make you just a little…queasy… until it was all mixed up with butter and milk?!)

2. Watch this video and sign the petition. The video is 2 minutes and 42 seconds long. And it takes less than 30 seconds to sign the petition to Kraft.

You’ve got three minutes, right? A little less conversation. A little more action. (No Curse Words Required!)

Here’s the petition to sign: http://www.change.org/petitions/kraft-stop-using-dangerous-food-dyes-in-our-mac-cheese

P.S. And as promised, a yummy ‘clean’ mac n’ cheese recipe from The Gracious Pantry. Click on the link below and check her out at http://www.thegraciouspantry.com She’s all kinds of awesome. Good Momma. Clean Eater. (Of course, know what works for you and yours.  Be aware of any gluten or dairy sensitivities you may have . Go Non-GMO.)

Clean Eating Macaroni And Cheese

 

4 responses to “Dye. — Mac n’ Cheese with a side of chemical crap. Only Available in the U.S.

  1. Lead Our Lives says:

    great post. agree with you. the food lobby in this country is powerful. we can take back our food by making different choices. it may take more time to prepare…and it is time that is lovingly invested in the good health of our loved ones. for those who cannot tolerate or have an acute allergy to wheat gluten (GMO), there are alternatives that can allow the enjoyment of mac and cheese, too. 😉

  2. MommyVerbs says:

    Thanks! Good reminders about gluten and dairy sensitivities. There is so much added to our foods without our knowledge, even those who are being responsible and reading labels and paying attention can’t possibly know all that is happening with these foods. We are looking forward to getting the garden started! Come on Spring!

  3. I ran right down and grabbed a box off the shelf, exciting my guinea pigs with squeals of delight b/c they thought they were getting something good! Oops! Our blue box lists “colour (contains tartrazine) – which sounds yucky too! I did make homemade mac ‘n cheese on the weekend and Little Guy wouldn’t eat it because it wasn’t the “right colour”. Oh my!

  4. Jan Francis says:

    As an older person I think of all the mac & cheese I fed to my kids and they loved it. Was it that bad back then? Has it gotten worse as the demand for easy, quick meals has grown? I don’t know. I’m trying to make better choices after becoming more aware of GMOs. Thanks for the blog. It was very informative and I signed the petition.

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

