mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Sew. — Sock Monkeys on Life.

on March 4, 2013

step 1 socks

Everything has to start somewhere.

The potential is inherent. The possibilities are endless.

From there, it is all about imagination and what you can create.

use all the parts wisely

Use it all. Don’t waste a single thread.

All of your gifts. All of your talents. All of your resources.

Leave nothing behind.

stuff

It is about quality, not quantity. Stuff it full of good stuff. In every direction.

Make sure you are full of love, of health, of spirit, of generosity.

Caution: Don’t overstuff. And stay away from the cheap stuff…it could leave you feeling  lumpy.

build

Put all of the pieces together in a way that makes sense.

Carefully. Pay close attention to the seams.

Make your knots tight, so nothing (or no one) can come apart later.

soul of the sock monkey

The fun is in the details. And the eyes.

Look into another’s eyes and see who they really are.

Connect. Appreciate. Accept.

–Lessons Learned from some ‘sock monkey making’.

Want more?

  • It is ok to ask for help. (Sock Monkey clothes are hard to make!) Mess up. Start over. Buy a little extra fabric, just in case. 

  • See things for what they are and what they can be. What started as a sock, now has the potential to be a lifelong friend.

  • You can tell what kind of friend you have, by looking them in the eyes.

  • Ears are great for listening. And wiping away tears.

  • Where some only see that simple sock, I see friendship. I see handiwork. I see tradition. I see love.

  • Sock Monkeys made in a factory are like processed foods. They are not real. They have a little white tag sewn on instead of a soul inside.

  • Warning: Matching the cutie little girl to just the right sock monkey friend, can result in very high-pitched happy squeals at craft fairs.

Dedicated to Goldean, my Grandmother, a lady I adore who took the time to share this tradition with me and taught me how to make sock monkeys.

And to JoJo: My lifelong friend of 40 years.

jojo

3 responses to “Sew. — Sock Monkeys on Life.

  1. Jan says:

    Okay, quite brilliant and I’m crying now. 🙂

  2. baabah says:

    I love sock monkeys. I still have my Ollie Ashtari-Larki-Smith sock monkey that you made for me years ago. (He wears a little Ollie North cap–and coincidentally told me that his name was Ollie when I met him). This is a wonderful tradition and I’m glad Goldean passed it on to you. Love that lady!

  3. Jan says:

    Love to revisit the process of birthing a new sock monkey for Audrey Kate. I tried to “like” it but I already had. I love you JoJo…my little grandmonkey. And I love you, you are special MommyVerbs. 🙂

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

