mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Sigh. — “That’s All I Got.”

on February 22, 2013

A few years ago, a very good friend of mine was teaching Kindergarten. She had a little guy in her classroom, who we can call ‘James’, who was a pill, on occasion, but way cute and super-hysterical.  One day, the rest of the class went outside to play, supervised by the student teacher of course, and my friend kept ‘James’ behind to talk with him about his behavior that day. She very calmly explained all of the different ways that she had tried to help him make good choices. She had given him reminders, clues, consequences, chances, etc. Finally, she shrugged her shoulders and said, “I don’t know what else to do.” Then she asked him, “What can I do to help you make good choices in our classroom?”

He looked strangely at her and said, “You could make me do my work at playtime.” And she answered, “I’ve done that.”

He then blinked and said, “You could make me sit at silent lunch” And she replied, “Yes, I’ve done that.”

He paused and looked around the room, searching awkwardly for the right answer. “You could call my Mom.’

My friend sighed and said, “I’ve done that, too.”

Finally, there were a few long moments of silence. Finally, ‘James’ looked at her, shrugged his shoulders right back, shook his head and very innocently and honestly and adorably said,

“That’s all I got.”

Needless to say, my good friend was speechless, smiling, trying not to laugh out loud and simply smiled and sent the lil’ charmer outside to play.

And with that a wonderful, long lasting catch phrase was born.

“That’s all I got.”

Which describes the last couple of days. Its been busy. There have been long days at board meetings and (obnoxious) puppy trainings and grant writing and civil rights workshops…  and that is just work…now add in the family and the ‘stuff’ of life. Life and work are seriously impeding upon my blogging time.

But I’m here. I’m collecting verbs to write about  soon. I’m writing that damn book I’ve been talking about. I’m working on launching a new blog around the “Eat Well. Play More.” efforts.  And I’ve still got to get us ready for the boy-child’s birthday party tomorrow, which includes the making of cupcakes from scratch and Chuck E. Cheese madness.

This is life.

And …  ‘that’s all I got.”

But for today…  it’s enough.

And in the meantime, if you are looking for a little MommyVerbs smile, check out this adorable lil’ X Tale True Story on Facebook.

x and a girl

3 responses to “Sigh. — “That’s All I Got.”

  1. Melissa says:

    Smile. I still think of ‘James’…..that’s all I got….

    • Ann says:

      “Thanks.” I’m thankful I get to work with kindergarteners this year and hear more of their ideas about the way the world works.

  2. Jan says:

    If this is all you got, it was plent to bring a smile to my face! 🙂 Loved it.

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

