mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Learn. — Disruptive Technology strikes again.

on February 18, 2013

Keep Calm and Superhero On

Fix It Felix (aka the best friend/partner/hubby for those who haven’t checked in in a while) and I were just discussing the role of disruptive technologies on our lives. Apparently this is a term coined by a Harvard Business School professor, Clayton M. Christensen, in a book called, The Innovator’s Dilemma.  I don’t know, I haven’t read the book, but I think Felix may have. That sounds like something he would totally read.

This kind of conversation happens a lot around here. Because I live in a house full of entrepreneurs. We like to learn.

We believe in the power of a new idea. A new technology. A new business. A new opportunity that lets us do what we want to do.

Because. Come on, it happens.

Someone has a good idea. That someone works hard, or … gets lucky… and makes it happen. It can go either way, really.

And either way, it  changes everything.

It creates new businesses. And at the same time it can put others out of business and/or forces them to rethink their strategies and their approach.

Tonight, I sought out a new technology to learn.  I thought it would be hard. I thought I would need some mad skills and practice. I was worried I would need to download something, some program. I was prepared to stay up tonight to make it happen.

Instead, I discovered that there was a ‘disruptive technology’ that, at least in my world, may make the ‘other’ version of this obsolete. At least for me. Because I don’t need it to be fancy. I just need it to do what I want it to do. And fast. And make it easy and dummy-proof, while you’re at it.

Because, much like Sweet Brown, “I don’t have time for that.” I’m busy. I’m a Mom with a full-time job, lots of ideas and just a little bit of time.

Some of you may roll your eyes and say, “Dear Friend, We could have told you how to do this ages ago…if only you had asked…”

And no. I didn’t do anything ah.may.zing. I didn’t solve any major problems. I didn’t make anyone’s life better.

But tonight, I learned how to make my own Pinterest pins.

And I didn’t need Photoshop or Adobe Illustrator to do it.

Next up. A website.

(Start the ominous music….)

4 responses to “Learn. — Disruptive Technology strikes again.

  1. Lead Our Lives says:

    Grin. I almost always either grin, smile or laugh out loud when I read your wonderful posts! Have fun with Pinterest!

  2. Jan says:

    Never been to Pinterest but maybe I can be lured by the Superhero pin!

  3. Impressed. I haven’t tackled that yet…

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

