mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Prepare. — The Real Question and 40 Days to Answer It

on February 13, 2013

I didn’t grow up celebrating Lent. I went to little churches all along, but I guess those little churches just didn’t … ‘do Lent.”  I remember hearing others talk about ‘giving up stuff for Lent’ and dutifully nodding and pretending I knew what the heck they were talking about. I did that a lot growing up. Pretending to know things I knew nothing about.

It wasn’t really until I started attending this little church in this little town doing big things that I really began to learn about Lent. And by learn, I mean learn as I go. A little at a time. Piecing it together to make it make sense for me. So, right or wrong, theologically accurate or not, here’s where I am on the subject:

In my opinion and experience, the big question with Lent seems to be what to give up? What to sacrifice? What to go without? Whether or not I should give up chocolate or wine or bread or … skydiving?

But, really, the big question needs to be …”Is it well with my soul?”

Is it well with my soul? …..  ….. ….. Ouch. That’s a bit tougher.

Let’s be honest, I could avoid chocolate and wine and bread all day long … forever … and still not be guaranteed the answer to that question.  I get it though. I get that the sacrifice is a reminder of what was given up for us. The ‘going without’ does its part to humble our over-indulgent spirits.

I’ve decided that I want something more from this time. As Lloyd Dobler once said, “I’m looking for something bigger, you know? I’m looking for a dare to be great situation.” And I am. I’m looking for that kind of thing.

For me, this year. It is about more than a piece of dark chocolate or a glass of wine. I’m looking for answers.

So, I haven’t figured out anything to ‘give up’ for this season of Lent. I haven’t even decided what to ‘add in’ or ‘crowd out’ or… instead, I’ve decided that I am going to take advantage of the time to try to figure it all out as best as I can. To take inventory, so to speak. See what’s working; what’s not.

The irony is not lost on me that this is a 40 day journey. I mean… “Hello!” I am pretty seasoned now on the whole 40 day thing.

For this Lenten season, I’m going to commit to using this time to reflect.

To appreciate.

To prepare.

To look for the answer to the question…

“Is it well with my soul?”

6 responses to “Prepare. — The Real Question and 40 Days to Answer It

  1. Cool post. I like it. I’m interested to see what you will post after the 40 days 🙂
    Check out my Lenten season post: “Confessions of a ‘bad’ Catholic: Why I eat meat on Fridays during Lent.” I think you’ll like it! http://cecilyarambula.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/confessions-of-a-bad-catholic-why-i-eat-meat-on-fridays-during-lent/

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Hey there! How did I miss replying to this? I think I went right to your site and loved it and got distracted. 🙂 So, here I am checking back in with you…40 days later…. 🙂

  2. i’m giving up crisps, but I cant get the kids to give up anything! guess I have 40 days to try! xxx

  3. MommyVerbs says:

    So little poppits: 40 days later…How did it go?! 🙂 I hope you all enjoy a lovely Easter!

  4. […] days ago, I set out to Prepare. during the Season of Lent. I wanted to answer a […]

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

