mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Attend. — Adamson? Adler? Anderson? … Bueller? Bueller? Bueller?

on February 7, 2013

ferris-bueller-2

Adamson? Adler? Anderson? … Bueller? ….

The infamous roll call. Taking attendance. Classic. We can all go there, right? Or is it just me? …the teacher, the classroom, the students, the drool on the desk, the annoyed answers of … “Here!” And then, nothing. He calls it again. Nothing. Crickets. No answer.

Someone is missing. Someone is absent. We all know that he didn’t pass out at 31 Flavors last night and…it is not serious, no matter what her ‘best friend’s  sister’s boyfriend’s brother’s girlfriend heard from that guy who knows that kid who’s going with that girl’ said.

Ferris skipped school. He’s just not there. He’s not in class, paying attention.

********************************************************************************************************

Switching the proverbial 1961 Ferrari 250GT California gears to MommyVerbs Land…

********************************************************************************************************

Someone recently asked me, “Are you needing a little attention?”

Huh?! (Did you just hear the squeaking brakes grind to a halt, like I just did?!)

At first, I honestly wasn’t sure how to take that comment. Should I be happy that someone noticed? Or should I be insulted and say, “What? What do you mean? Was I acting like I needed attention? Was I trying to get some attention?! Well, Humph!” (or whatever your version of huffing and crossing your arms sounds like!)

But the answer would be … Yes.

Sure. Yes. Absolutely. Because we all need attention.  We all want people to pay attention to us.  We want people to notice.

We all need attention.

And at the same time, we all need to attend to things:  to tasks, to conversations, to relationships.

Ahem.  Pay attention: To People.

And by attend, I mean we actually need to attend, as in, be in attendance. We need to present. We need to Be There.

We need to be intentional about being present and being there.

Especially in our parenting.  As parents, we don’t get the childish luxury of skipping out and avoiding our ‘raising up good people’ responsibilities. The kiddos are taking roll, keeping up with our attendance.  Not just at the ball games or piano recitals, but every day. In the living room. In the kitchen. At the dining room table. At bedtime tuck-ins.

So, my advice: “Come on, Live a Little.”  Take a deep breath. Put the phone down. Show up.  Be there.  Attend. Pay attention.

Because Ferris is totally right.

Life does move pretty fast. And if you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you will miss it.

Let’s all. Go, Do that.  (Don’t worry, Mommas. I’m still working on this, too. Engage the Day, Sisses!) 

And for the record: “Ferris Bueller–You’re my hero.”

5 responses to “Attend. — Adamson? Adler? Anderson? … Bueller? Bueller? Bueller?

  1. Jan Francis says:

    Two more movies to add to my collection! 🙂 Thanks mommyverbs.

    • MommyVerbs says:

      I do what I can. Some days it is more than others. Some days it probably doesn’t amount to too much! I’ll call this a good solid contribution. I would hate for those to be left off of your list!

  2. “The question isn’t “what are we going to do,” the question is “what aren’t we going to do?” That Ferris – he was a “righteous dude”!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Perfection.

      Hey, You realize if we played by the rules right now we’d be in gym? hahahahaha….

      I am not going to sit on my ass as the events that affect me unfold to determine the course of my life. I’m going to take a stand. I’m going to defend it.

      Yeah, 🙂

  3. […] they search for Bueller, Bueller, they land on a post about showing up, really attending to […]

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

