mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Build. — Room for Writing

on February 3, 2013

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/02/03/daily-prompt-writing-room/

A genie has granted your wish to build your perfect space for reading and writing. What’s it like?

At first, I was thinking about something like this.  A little hideaway room in the backyard.

writing coop

But, I don’t think I would really like that because it would take me away from all the action. I mean, I write about my family.  How would I be able to hear the amazing chaos that is, in fact, most of my MommyVerbs material, if I am holed away in a chicken coop outside? It would be like a sports writer who doesn’t go to games. That’s not real.

Still the private space would be lovely.  Although, it looks a little like a dollhouse, which isn’t really my style. So…now I’m thinking about…

When I was about 8 or 9, my Dad and Grandpa built a treehouse that was so…awesome.  If I could have that back, that would be perfect.  I’m sure the kiddos would want to invade and join me, but it was that … awesome.  It would be wrong to keep them out of that kind of magic, so little to no writing would actually get accomplished.

Here is the little writing space I just created. Just last weekend. Yes, it is in my closet. And yes, they have already found me. I just used a dresser that was already in there, formerly piled up with boxes and whatnot.  The chair came from the garage…part of a very old kitchen set that I painted years ago and used in college and beyond.  The action words are the kites I painted that used to be on Y’s nursery wall. I love the re-purposing of it all. Not the comfiest and the chair creaks quite a bit, and there is no outlet, so the computer needs to have a lot of battery. But I usually don’t get long stretches of writing time anyway, so it usually doesn’t matter that much.

writing room

So, if I had to make an improvement on this, the only space that I really have to sit and be and write…I would do something a little more comfortable. Someplace that I could put my feet up and get a little cozier.

loft

This whole prompt and conversation has me laughing right now, because my actual writing space is right here, where I am. In the kitchen, leaning up against the corner of the countertop. Watching the kiddos on the couch playing a game together. With dinner in the oven. In the middle of all of the action.  Imagine that.

That is really the glory behind a MommyVerbs post.  Now you know my secret.

 

4 responses to “Build. — Room for Writing

  1. Jan says:

    I see you leaning there, writing. 🙂 What’s for dinner?

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Haha! Yep, that is me leaning. I just made kale chips, sweet potato fries and bruschetta. Tom is going to make some shrimp and crab legs for the commercials, I mean, game. Go, Niners! Come on, I was born there, kinda.

  2. […] Build. – Room for Writing (mommyverbs.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Build. — Room for Writing « mommyverbs […]

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

