mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Eat Well. Play More. #1 — Remove.

on February 1, 2013

wellness sisters appleThis is the first post in a new series that I am calling: “Eat Well. Play More.”  This is MommyVerbs being intentional about engaging with action words as it applies to the health and wellness of … me, my family and those in my circle of peeps. Come along as you like…we’re in this together.  Here is a first step…

Change is hard. It just is.

Managing Change. Affecting Change. …. Creating Change. Sustaining Change. Hard. Hard. …. Hard. Hard.

It doesn’t matter if it is change that you choose or if it is change that chooses you.  Sometimes the latter is even easier because you didn’t have to … choose it.  Doesn’t matter, it is all still hard.

But necessary? Yes. Sometimes.

I’ve shared before my love of beginnings. Birthdays. New Year’s Eve. Blank journal pages. New calendars.  I woke up this morning thinking about February 1st. Ok, really I woke up thinking about coffee and whether or not schools were closed for snow…but then I started thinking about February 1st. A new month. A new calendar page. And in some respects, I am celebrating this as the beginning of a new era for me and my lil’ fam.

We’ve made a lot of changes in the past year. Changes that I am proud of. Changes that we are still working on every day. Changes that seem to be taking hold and becoming the norm. I thought I would use this time and space to begin to share a few posts about the changes we have made.  One thing at a time. Please allow me to start with….

The. Way. We. Eat.

This time last year, I thought I was a brilliant wife for getting the best friend/partner/hubby the sweetest Valentine’s Day gift ever–a big bag of all of his favorite candies and sugar-y nonsense.

This year’s Valentine’s Day gift will look just a little bit different. Because in this past year, we have made a lot of changes in what we bring in to our house, what we put in to our bodies and what we have removed; things that are no longer welcomed. And like I said, change is hard, especially when you have a young X and Y who are wondering what they did to deserve such radical adjustments to their short lives as consumers….and who took away their cookies, crackers and Capri Suns!? We’ve tried to be intentional.  Not always perfect. Still lots of room for improvements.

Sugar. We have seriously reduced the amount of sugar that is in our house. One year ago, a little sugar bowl used to sit on the counter next to the stove.  I have no idea where that little sugar bowl is right now. It has been replaced with Stevia and is only used in my coffee and tea, and any baking that we do. It has become something we are aware of. Even last night the boy-child made a logical argument for why he should get a snack by using the number of grams of sugar as one of his points of debate.  I can’t make that up…he actually used the words, ‘grams of sugar’.

Sugar-y Drinks. If you come to our house, please do not expect to find the endless 2-liters of Coke and Diet Coke. You won’t find any here. You also won’t find any of those Capri Suns. A year ago, those were filling up our refrigerator and our recycling bins, but not anymore. Now, you will find plastic water bottles in our bins.  (Yes, I know…I said we still have some improvements to make–remember it is a start and change takes time.) So, if you would like something to drink other than coffee, tea, milk, or water…you will need to bring it with you. (OK, there is still wine, too.)

Chicken Nuggets. (That sound you just heard was me gagging a little bit at the thought that those used to be in our freezer and I used to feed those to my children on a regular basis.) Please know this: I am not judging. At all. I’ve just learned a few things that changed the way I look at some foods. I get it. Busy Momma. Crazy schedules. But I’m here to tell you that there are other options…if you are interested.

Bags and Boxes of processed foods. We are still working on that one, but these take up a lot less room in our pantry and cabinets these days. And what is there, in rectangular cardboard, mostly has 5 ingredients or less on the label.  Making progress?  Yes. Perfect?  No. But I like when I hear the girl-child talk to her classmates about not eating too many processed foods. And she knows what that means, too.

Remnants from Fast Food Places. Yeah, you won’t find those in our cars or trash cans anymore. At least not like before anyway. (Occasionally, on a long trip, because we are not THAT prepared, …ever.)  I do think we have pretty much convinced the kiddos of the evil junk that is found in those bags and they don’t really even ask for it anymore.  Much.

Are we perfect? No. Far from it. Have we made some changes that will last? Yes, absolutely.

Change is hard. Change is harder with kiddos. And remember, I get it. Busy Momma, Crazy Schedules. Kiddos that are used to things a certain way. We were honest with the kiddos. When they asked for it, we told them why we don’t buy it anymore.

So here’s the challenge: Choose. Decide. Crowd out the yucky. One thing at a time. Celebrate the little successes.

Eat Well. Play More. Engage each day with action words. 

10 responses to “Eat Well. Play More. #1 — Remove.

  1. Jan says:

    I would like a menu of meals so I can feed my grandchildren properly! 🙂

  2. I’m fortunate to be able to be home with this kid, but as part of my job, it has been to make sure we are eating well. Going gluten free has helped – I’m not making different meals for everyone! Of course, it would help if Hubby didn’t have a hollow leg…Keep crowding out the yucky!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thanks for the support. I like the way you describe that–Part of your job to make sure everyone eats healthy. I love that. I avoid gluten but need to convince everyone else. One step at a time.

  3. Lead Our Lives says:

    Important changes…and you’re right, it takes time. I spent way too many years working for one of the federal agencies responsible for regulating the manufacture and processing of some things. Consumers have to be vigilant about what they buy, what they eat and and what chemicals they put in their bodies. Demand healthy. The lobbying groups for so many of these products is very powerful and wealthy. Their bottom line is more important than your health. Rock on busy mom!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thanks for the Rock On, Lead Our Lives! That’s what we do,isn’t it? We do have to be smart consumers…read the labels…know where things comes from and what they are made with…what we clean with…the air we breathe. It ain’t easy and I’m far from even being close to ‘being’ there. My goal will be to practice a little more of what I preach. Oy. Tall order. MommyVerbs…keeping me accountable!

  4. Kathleen says:

    “Eat real food, not too much, mostly plants…” Michael Pollan
    I’m glad you still have wine!

  5. Live Truly! So excited–change is hard, it gets easier, promise. It’s not that hard actually to forgo most processed foods and still live a chaotic existence. 🙂 Encourage!!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Well, I certainly want to make sure we keep the chaotic existence intact! Wouldn’t want to give that up! Ha! 🙂 I’m fairly sure we are not in any danger of that, anytime soon!

      We made our own alfredo-like sauce tonight using the great VitaMix blender. And by “we” I really mean the other members of my family. I cleaned up the mess afterwards. It was yum though! Thanks for the encouragement!

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

