mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Record. — Random with more in common than I thought.

on January 27, 2013

As I was in the closet yesterday, cleaning and organizing…(a project I am sure you are all so thankful that I am actually getting around to as I have been talking about doing it for months now and I’m sure you are tired of hearing about it)…I turned on a movie in the bedroom to ‘watch’ in the background.  Some would say that is just a complete disregard and waste of electricity, but not me. I love some good background noise.

Of course, if I’m honest, the movies that I ‘listen’ to while I do other projects is probably not the most time efficient. Yes, I get distracted. Yes, I stop in my tracks and watch the scene that makes me smile or laugh or…yes, cry. I’m sure I would get things accomplished much faster with the iPod and a little of my boy, Adam Levine.

Alas, today, it was “Elizabethtown”. Raise your hand if you have seen it? Now, keep ’em up if you love it. Yeah, that is me with both hands in the air, jumping up and down.

Sigh. I just love that movie.  I love any movie that can make me laugh and cry at the same time, that allows me to wallow a little in the melancholy of the situation, while still enjoying some clever banter and conversation. And the music…oh my, how I love this soundtrack.  It is certainly on my most played playlist, too.

Elizabethtown– “During an outrageous memorial for a Southern patriarch, an unexpected romance blooms between a young woman and man.” Eh, it is so much more than that. Sure, the romance is cute and full of witty banter. I love Kirsten Dunst in this –she’s a flight attendant, so travel is implied–and then I LOVE some Orlando Bloom, too. He is dealing with a major failure…not just the absence of success, but a fiasco with a price tag of close to a billion dollars. So, “you failed. You really failed. You failed. You failed. You failed. You failed.” And he has to make ’em wonder why he’s still smiling. He’s dealing with loss at the same time.  It addresses my fear of a huge, very public failure and how to overcome.  There is a ‘talk all night on the phone” scene and everyone knows that used to be my thing before I appreciated sleep a bit more. There is also a drive across the country, stopping along the way and visiting famous and little known places. I want to do that someday-on the family intentions/bucket list for sure.

And … the soundtrack. Ah. May. Zing. I love every cut, the songs on the album and those that didn’t make it. Just good for the soul kind of stuff:

  1. My Father’s Gun – Elton John
  2. 10 (This Time Around) – Helen Stellar
  3. Hard Times (Come Again No More) – Eastmountainsouth
  4. Jesus Was a Cross Maker – The Hollies
  5. Square One – Tom Petty
  6. Same in Any Language – I Nine
  7. Pride (In the name of Love) U2…. and the list goes on.

“We are intrepid. We carry on.”

There are other movies like this for me. The ones I turn on in the middle of the night when I can’t sleep. Background movies with scenes that make me stop and watch and smile and cry and apply to my life and situations. I can quote many, many lines from these movies. The characters become friends that I can call up in those wee hours to spend a little time with.

I started thinking about my ‘go to’ movies.  They are pretty random on the surface, but I’ve realized that they have some things in common, too.  First, they have to be easily and readily available at any time, so one thing they all have in common is that I have snagged them at one time or another on the DVR. When you need a friend, you don’t always have the time to find the DVD and then the remote for the DVD player…you need that friend to be there at the push and scroll of a button.

Under the Tuscan Sun — “While on vacation, a writer buys a villa in Tuscany on a whim, hoping it will be the start of a change for the better in her life.” (Confession: I’m watching that one right now…Diane Lane in a villa in Tuscany…terrible idea…don’t you just love those!?) So, there is the travel theme … an impromptu, damn the consequences, kind of move to a beautifully romantic landscape.  There is the starting again and taking chances part.  She’s a writer…hmmm. She is remodeling a house and creating a life that she loves, focused on the important things.

“You have to live spherically, in many directions. Never lose your childish enthusiasm…and…things will come your way.”

The Devil Wears Prada — “A young woman lands a job with a famous and diabolical editor of a New York fashion magazine.” This one is really random and not my style at all. I think I just relate to the girl following her dreams in a world of mean people. Again, she’s a writer and there is a whole stay true to yourself vibe. The music is good. I do like the fashion of it all, but I don’t have the budget or the desire to wear stilletos. My feet hurt watching them wear those shoes.  Of course, it takes place in New York City and I do love the Big Apple. And this line makes me laugh:

“Really? It’s for Paris, I’m on this new diet. Well, I don’t eat anything and when I feel like I’m about to faint I eat a cube of cheese. I’m just one stomach flu away from my goal weight.”

How to Make an American Quilt — “Overwhelmed woman seeks sanctuary with friends, clan.” Well, a group of women sharing their stories of life and love, from their different perspectives all the while crafting a quilt together…what’s not to love?  Hello, Maya Angelou. Again, the main character is a writer, well, at least she’s a student and she is there supposedly to focus and write her thesis of sorts. I love a good group of girlfriends. Friends that you can count on, that have your back, no matter what. I’ve been blessed with many good lifelong friends in my life and while I don’t see us around a quilt in 20 years, we may very well be together at a winery over some cheese and crackers. When I think of milestones, I want them all there, at a round table, together. This movie also is home to one of my all-time favorite life quotes:

“You have to choose your combinations carefully. The right choices will enhance your quilt. The wrong choices will dull the colors and hide their original beauty. There are no rules you can follow. You have to go by instinct and you have to be brave.”

The Paper — “Two New York tabloid editors come to blows over a front-page story that may be true for only a day.” There’s a lot going on in this one, but I love it so. There was a time I wanted to be a journalist, so that appeals to me. Again, writers. I don’t care about the whole crime scene storyline and that is not what the movie is about.  It is about getting the story right. Being true and right in the moment. Isn’t that the goal? What we should all be trying to do and trying to be?

One of my favorite lines, especially when I was giving up the Diet Coke: “Why don’t you just pour battery acid down your throat?” “No caffeine.”

But here is the kicker, the one to keep as you walk away:

“That is exactly my point. It is never one big dramatic choice. It is little, vague situations every day…and you’re either there or you’re not. You keep waiting for the guy with the gun to show up and it’s going to be too late.”

And…

“Didn’t you notice? All the crap. Today, I can’t even remember it.”


					
6 responses to “Record. — Random with more in common than I thought.

  1. 43fitness says:

    Adam is your boy too? Wonderful, I knew I loved you! And I actually used to work for the character in Devil Wears Prada. Her name was Sandy, but that’s about the only distinction. I never got to throw that phone in the fountain, though, so that movie gives me such satisfaction!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      And I love you even more than I knew I did! OMG…For Adam…sigh…and … You must tell me more about your Devil Wears Prada-esque experiences…maybe your phone/fountain moment is still to come?

      • 43fitness says:

        Oh yeah, SO d r e a m y! Anyway, I did eventually leave but it was in no way fountain-like. I basically ran away (but with 2 weeks notice of course!) In her FACE huh? Oh well, maybe I’ll muster that level of gumption in the future.

      • MommyVerbs says:

        I’m sure you had a fountain moment, just not in a Paris/I’m Anne Hathaway kind of way. You did it your way…and I’m sure she still feels the sting. 🙂 Anyway, if nothing else, I’m totally putting you on my ‘six degrees to’ list for the Devil Wears Prada! That has to be worth something, right?!

  2. […] believe in signs. Just like one of my favorite lines from one of my favorite movies: “Under the Tuscan Sun.”   I have started to pay closer attention to synchronicities in my everyday world. Little signs, […]

  3. […] I believe in signs. Just like one of my favorite lines from one of my favorite movies: “Under the Tuscan Sun.” […]

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

