mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Book. — Help! Calling all writers! This one is haunting me…

on January 24, 2013

writing

Help! I’m in new territory here.

I am a working Momma who happens to do a few million things, one, just one of which is write a Momma blog.

But lately….

Lately, I am completely distracted by the book that I want need to write.

I blame some of you.

Sorry, but I do. Some of you. Some of you that I know and some of you I only know in WordPressland. You, who completely motivate and inspire me to…write. Some of you who amaze me on a daily basis and make me want to be a better … writer. A better Momma. A better version of … just ME. Thanks for that and also….

Curse You!

Because….

I am having problems focusing on the other things I need to be doing. Like do laundry. Or  go grocery shopping. Or plan meals. Or just straighten up the living room. Or be intentional with my kiddos. Or talk to my best friend/partner/hubby. Or keep up with my real work.

This is a new feeling for me.

I’m sure for real writers, this may be a familiar state. But this is new for me. Not that I am a real writer, conversational writer/archivist at best, but…

I am constantly thinking about these words; this story. I don’t know how to find make the time to write them down.

I keep a phone or iPad or old fashioned notebook around with me where ever I go am.

I have used the notes app on my phone to jot down the outline while I waited for the shower to warm up. Or to put the curlers in my hair. I think about it while I drive. While I sit at my desk. While I talk to other people. (That’s bad, right?!)

I try to figure out when I can write this down. Can I take a leave from work? Can I call in sick? Can I check into a hotel? Can I go away for a weekend writing retreat?

No. No. No. No.

So, how do you do it? How do you find the time and the energy to make these things happen? To tell your story(ies)? To just write it all down. Get it all out.

Because it is haunting me a little.

I’m serious.

I want to know.

Calling all real writers…What’s your secret?!

19 responses to “Book. — Help! Calling all writers! This one is haunting me…

  1. emmetcalf says:

    Admitting that I am an only a college student may lose me credibility points, but I’d say that “finding time” is the appropriate phrase, at least for me (but I’m not a mother.) I find time in the hours when I should be sleeping, the minutes before class or meetings, and the time when I’ve got a stack of homework sitting next to me that I allow myself to diligently ignore. Granted, it’s a different situation, but it sounds to me like you’re writing is perfectly timed. Just keep on truckin’, mommyverbs!

  2. MommyVerbs says:

    No credibility points lost here with me. I think you are right on the money…the time may have to be ‘borrowed’ from other times…like the sleeping or the …I’m not sure where else, but maybe it is in just the minutes here and there. Maybe the story will piece itself together in those moments? Good for you…finding the time is important, no matter the stage of life. You just taught me..own it. Own the minutes, the moments. That is where it will happen. Thanks, emmetcalf! And if I’m ever…ever…published, I’d love to send you a copy…if you can find the moments to read it! Thanks. Really. Thanks.

  3. Dan says:

    Everyone’s different, but my approach has always been to force myself to write **something** each day. It may turn out to be total crap, but I write it anyway. I don’t dwell too much on word choice, flow and rhythm because I know I’ll be coming back to edit later. That’s phase 2, by the way. When the well is bone dry and you can’t write any more, edit.

    The next best piece of advice I can offer is to find a partner — somebody who likes to read and write similar stuff — and get a partnership going. Proof-read and edit for one another. Bounce weird ideas off of each other. Seek help when you’re stuck. Having a partner who knows what you’re trying to do and has a feel for how you write is an awesome thing!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thanks! Great advice. I’m trying to take advantage of every available moment. I just wrote a pretty good section on my phone while I was just waiting for the eye doctor! And I’m trying very hard not to edit as I go, but just get words on paper/screen. I’ll be on the lookout for a partner…I have a good friend who has an incredible writing partnership and they have a set date on the calendar to get together to collaborate. I think I need to get a little bit farther into this process, but I can certainly see where having a trusted writer friend read and give feedback would be so helpful.

      Tell me more about your writing!

  4. The secret is to do it and do it and do it and never stop. Write when you have time and when you don’t have time and when you believe in yourself and when you don’t. Write crap and write genius and never judge yourself for either. Remember that it takes time and practice and confidence to be good at anything. All the rest is just dressing and everyone likes different dressing.

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thanks! I really appreciate the feedback and completely agree. I just made a note to myself not to edit as I go. The goal right now is to just write and get it out. And you are right…about all of this…especially the dressing!

  5. Oh you know - the anti-social one! says:

    I know . . . Quit Facebook! (I’m sorry; I couldn’t resist!) 😉

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Oh you know….”you’re right, you’re right…I know you’re right.” (Name THAT movie!) Facebook is quickly becoming just another way I share my blog though… so… that makes it good for something!

  6. 43fitness says:

    I don’t feel like I’m nearly in the same writing league as you are, but I feel the same gnawing drive to write. I am failing in many areas of my domesticity, and I only have a part time job. I don’t think there is any trick to it, you just have to try and balance it the best you can. I know you’ve NEVER heard that before. There are some days I feel more like writing, and days I don’t feel like it at all, so that helps. However, I have managed to carve out some time a few nights a week after kiddo bedtime, when my husband is watching SciFi or some other testosterone-loaded programming. Anyway, I think it’s really OK that you’ve found something for just you. Moms need that. If you really want to make it a priority, keep working and a path will find you.

    • MommyVerbs says:

      You are already living proof that you can do anything that you put your mind to…You have the self-discipline to make it happen and you inspire many! Let’s challenge each other to answer the call and make the time to put words on paper/screen. I’m looking forward to the book you have to share! Thanks for the words of encouragement!

  7. William T. Smith says:

    I am ashamed I haven’t written anything to you in the past but have read your blog; this one got to me because I am almost finished with the outline to a “story” I have been working on for a while now that has required so much research. The thing is; how the heck does anyone find the time to do all this stuff and live their life even when they aren’t “super mom” like you? I have gone crazy trying to fit our life into “the writing” I need to do. For me you grab every chance to schedule it if you need to travel for research and write every chance you get. If it’s work it’s no fun. If it’s not fun I don’t want to do it. I’m only doing it for the enjoyment and fulfillment and “need to get it out” of me….you know? I have the beginings of four other “projects” which started as notes I took sitting in doctors waiting rooms, etc. You get it where you can, when you can I guess. My love to you.

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thanks for the note and for taking the time to read my little stories. It means a lot to me to know folks are enjoying the words I piece together. I agree the answer is just … make time…. which sounds so simple and yet. I love to find out that others write. Please share sometime. Love to you, too! ❤

  8. djsmitty says:

    I began several writing projects and I have trouble with “finding the time” myself and I am almost completely free to do whatever so I can’t imagine your predicament. I do know one thing; you have talent to do whatever you set your mind to do. I encourage you to schedule a minimum “set period” of time each day to work on your project. That way you will have an allocated time of the day dedicated to your “passion”. It’s easier said than done but it’s one strategy to get it done and it’s as good as any. People who write for a living do nothing else; they write or research to write. That’s all.

    • MommyVerbs says:

      I’m looking forward to seeing more about the projects you are working on. I am trying to write a little at a time. A chapter or a page or two when I have a few moments. I did write a pretty good chunk yesterday while waiting for the eye dr. One page at a time.

  9. Lead Our Lives says:

    Julia Cameron’s book, “The Artist’s Way” has, among its’ tools, the suggestion of writing morning pages – 3 pages, every morning. The book is great, if you have not seen or read it. the power of writing every morning before the day gets started is powerful enough. I committed to doing it and it has made all of the difference. The ego judgmental voice no longer bullies me to write and when I do sit down to write (other than the morning pages), the better part of me is expressed. The book includes a commitment to an artist’s date. One hour each week. For those of us who were addicted to schedules and felt everything had to be planned, this is great for recovery from those habits which ultimately robbed me of my creative essence. I highly recommend the practice.

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thanks so much for the suggestion of Julia Cameron’s book. I’m on Amazon looking at it right now. Funny, because, completely unrelated, a person on facebook randomly shared the exact same book and said the same thing. I think it is meant to be. I. will. be. ordering. this. book. Thank you for taking the time to share this with me. And congratulations on the writing milestones for yourself. Those are amazing accomplishments!

  10. I did the NaNoWriMo challenge. Here is the link: http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/dashboard
    It’s free. The challenge is to write a 50,000 word book in one (1) month. The idea is that your book will never be perfect, especially the first draft, so just do it. You update your wordcount every day. I also posted about it on my blog. Guess what? I did it! You can too.

    Of course…now I have to edit it and find a publisher. There’s no website for that. *sigh*

    Good luck!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thanks. I have seen folks talking about NaNoWriMo and it took me forever to figure out what they were talking about. Is it only in November? I’m assuming you just apply the concepts to any month and just….write. 🙂 Easier said than done. I’m inspired though. Now to make it happen. Is there a website for that?! Wishing us all fabulousness … soon! It’s all happening!

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

