mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Anticipate. — Spoons, Ice Cubes and Inside Out PJs

on January 16, 2013

It is here. The potential is in the air. The hype is here.

The hype of the first snowfall is here for us.

For the few of you who are reading and paying attention, (thank you–you rock!), you will remember that I was just complaining about the three days of rain. Well, this morning, they started talking about the rain turning, finally, to snow.

Now. Truth be known. I’m not that much of a fan of snow either. I just don’t like being cold. Give me hot and beach and ocean and sand and I’ll be a happy camper. I’ll even take miserable humid over cold any day.

But snow is better than rain. Simply because 1) it is pretty, 2) it is different, 3) the kiddos and I can play in it and there will be homemade hot chocolate… 4) even though I am not officially still in the classroom anymore, it still could carry the consequence of an unexpected day off.

Yep. A snow day. Still simply magic. Three magic words.

At work though, I try to play it cool. I try to be the one who is above it all. All the hype. The one who isn’t talking about the possibility of snowfall accumulations around every corner. The one who is isn’t checking the weather channel every five minutes. The one who maybe, didn’t even, make a contingency plan for the meeting tomorrow afternoon…just in case. Truth be known…I play it cool, because secretly, I just don’t want to be disappointed. 😉

X and Y, well, as expected are super excited about the possibilities of the white stuff.

I came home to find a spoon already in the fridge.

They went to bed in their pajamas turned inside out.

I provided them both with cotton balls for under their pillows.

And I am fairly certain that I heard ice cubes being flushed down the toilet…several times.

It is exciting. The first snowfall. As adults we feel the need to be cool, above it all, aka doubters! As adults the first snowfall becomes reduced to dreading any driving we have to do or the quick run to the grocery story for milk and bread (and wine).

But it should be about the magical stuff. Getting up early just to see if your school’s name is on that scrolling list of school closings. Celebrating when you see it in its rightful alphabetical order place. Staying in your pajamas and doing the “happy it snowed happy” dance! Finding the box of snow clothes to see what still fits. Heading out in last year’s boots and stomping in the crunchiness. Catching flakes on our tongues. Having the very first snowman up in the neighborhood. Being the first on the sledding hill. Snow angels and snowball fights. Watching Hatteras marvel at the whiteness and coldness for the first time. Ever. Rosy cheeks and freezing fingertips. Giggles and squeals.

The promise and warmth of hot chocolate.

Magic.

Sigh. I’m headed to bed. The potential of so much fun and excitement makes this Momma tired. But first I’m feeling the need to flush a few more ice cubes…just in case.

5 responses to “Anticipate. — Spoons, Ice Cubes and Inside Out PJs

  1. Lead Our Lives says:

    You so eloquently captured the feelings of so many working parents! Today, I am grateful that I do not have to be concerned about driving in it. I rather enjoy the quiet that the snow forces us into – if only for a very brief period. Have fun!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      It turned out to be a ‘good’ snow…about 7-8 inches. I didn’t venture out because I was sick, but our roads were a complete disaster that first night. I have a friend who usually takes about 45 minutes to get home…that night…over 6 hours! Ugh! Nightmare. And then the power starts going out for folks. Fortunately, we made it through that fairly well, too! But…the sledding was super fun! 🙂

  2. I grew up with snow days – loved them. The fabulousness of a day off in the middle of the week. But where we live, Little Guy only gets “snow days” when the teachers go on strike! We get snow…most winters…but the schools never close. So sad. Our white stuff has melted and we’re back to mud…Enjoy any white stuff!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Teacher strike…ack!…what’s that!?! Really? Doesn’t happen around here!

      Well, we got about 7-8 inches of snow! Beautiful with a complete closure of schools which meant even I had the day off….and …. yep… I was sick. S.I.C.K. Sick. Alas…made it out the next day to catch a little of the sledding of X and Y and the neighborhood kiddos. Super fun! One good neighbor even drove his four wheeler up the hillside, carrying all of the sledders. In my day…we had to walk our booties back up the hill! They had a ton of fun though, I think I didn’t see Y for almost 24 hours! Crazy fun snow day/weekend! And once again, I forgot sunscreen so they look a little more rosy-cheeked than usual! 🙂

  3. […] Anticipate. — Spoons, Ice Cubes and Inside Out PJs Jan […]

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

