mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Brag. — Did you know I’m ‘The Next Big Thing’?

on January 7, 2013

I have said it before and I will say it again…this blogging community is the best ever. I have ‘met’ the nicest, most encouraging people ever; people who share a passion for writing and a willingness to just share their worlds with others. I have learned more about myself as a Mom and a pseudo-writer and several of these fellow bloggers have given me some of the best compliments of my life.

So, one of these folks has tagged me as The Next Big Thing. Remember, I’m still new here, so I had to look it up…but it involves bloggers who either have a book under their belt, or are in the process of writing one or should be writing one. I fall into the last category…I want to write a book. I very clearly remember a quick comment from the lovely Laurie Nichols  She said to me, “I do think that you have a book in you….Having visited and read your delightful posts, you have a story and you have the voice. :D

Oh my. She nailed it. There it is. Best. Compliment. Ever. And just what I needed to hear. I so want to write a book. I have started several. A couple of children’s books. A couple of biographical/memoir reflection pieces, even a look at 40 retrospective.  Nothing is finished. But the ideas are there. I just need to find the time and the motivation to get this next big thing done.

So, clearly I am currently pretty far  from actually being The Next Big Thing…but maybe, someday.  So I thank you, Laurie Nichols, for tagging me for this and, more importantly, for the incredibly perfect words. Apparently, the rules are simple; answer a few questions regarding your work if it is done or in process or even if it is only in your head and then tag five other bloggers whom you feel are on the book writing path.

So, here goes with one of the ideas I have. There is another one that I am working on, but I can’t talk about it…just…yet. That story is personal. That story is real. That story is not finished. But. Maybe someday. With encouragement like this, it could happen!

What is the title of your book?

40 Days to 40

Where did the idea come from for your book?

My own journey and countdown to the great 40th milestone birthday. I was intentional about marking this occasion and believe it should not be dreaded, but fully celebrated and revered.

What genre does your book fall under?

Hmmm. Self-help? Is there a Bridget Jones’ Diary genre section?

Which actors would you choose to play in your movie rendition?

Oooohhh! There is going to be a movie?! Well….

Sharon: Elizabeth Shue

Tom: Michael J. Fox

Y: Dakota Fanning

X : X may just need to play himself. I can’t find a suitable substitute. 

Setting: here. there. anywhere.

What is a one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Never dread the milestones of your life. Count down to them…make them count…celebrate those moments. 

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Well…I have no idea. I would love for it to be represented by an agency, but I think self publishing is pretty freakin’ awesome as well.  As long as the goal is an actual published book.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

hmmmm…hard to say just yet. Check back again soon.

What other books would you compare this story to?

I’m sure there is a whole shelf at Barnes and Nobles dedicated to turning 40. I just haven’t looked.

Who or what inspired you to write the book?

I set it as one of my intentions of this year. I like to follow through on my goals to be a good role model for my kiddos. I have stories to tell. I need to tell them.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It is something that everyone goes through…a rite of passage. Make it matter and make it memorable. *

And now…I would like to tag these folks as…. “The Next Big Thing!”

http://jennsmidlifecrisis.wordpress.com/

http://lesleycarter.wordpress.com/

http://43fitness.com/

http://humantriumphant.wordpress.com/

http://thebookofalice.com/

5 responses to “Brag. — Did you know I’m ‘The Next Big Thing’?

  1. 43fitness says:

    Deserve! That’s for your award, which is so appropriate! Looking forward to one of those books in the future. Thank you also for nominating my little corner of the blogosphere. Connecting with such intelligent and generous authors like yourself is such a gift!

  2. Excited. Excited to see your nomination and I fully agree – you have style!! Next…shocked…to see my name in your post. I didn’t click on the little star yet with the messages (savouring that moment when I click the little star…) Thank you so much! I’ll have to set aside my Xbox controller and give this some serious consideration!!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      When you have time… 🙂 Those little orange stars are so much fun to click. Although I have to say, I don’t really like the format changes of WordPress as of late. Is it just me? I am having trouble getting used to the new Reader look. I wonder if I can go back? And I don’t usually mind change…I think I just liked it so much. Silly me.

      • I dislike the new format too – I barely know what I’m doing now, and with my diminishing mental capacity (age or hormone related – you pick!), change isn’t helping me hold on to my dignity! So much to learn – so little motivation! 🙂

  3. […] greatly appreciate the gift of exhortation, and especially appreciate MommyVerbs directing her particular gift towards me. She told me to “Engage the Day!” Thank you so […]

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

