mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Give Up. — Crowd out the Complicated. Invite the Happy.

on January 6, 2013

I read a quick article this morning that resonated with me, so in MommyVerb’s fashion, I thought I would share.

We are all busy right now, making resolutions and setting intentions, stating our goals and checking in on how we are doing already on Day 6.

In 2013, I’m interested in the idea of intentionally inviting good things into my life and into the life of my family while crowding out the stuff that makes our lives complicated.

Here is my MommyVerbs take on the list of 15 things we should let go/crowd out in order to invite more happiness to our lives. My interpretation, using the words I often hear myself saying….

1. Give up your need to always be right.

It is not about being right. It is about making it right.

2. Give up your need for control.

Can you do anything about it right now?

3. Give up on blame.

I don’t want to hear, “He made me do it!” anymore. You made the choice to (fill in the blank).

4. Give up your self-defeating self-talk.

Don’t say things like that about you. Say nice things…to yourself.

5. Give up your limiting beliefs.

Believe you … Can. Can’t is an outlaw word.

6. Give up complaining.

Do something about it then.

7. Give up the luxury of criticism.

Let’s not judge.

8. Give up your need to impress others.

Who cares? They aren’t paying as much attention to you, or what you are wearing or doing, as you might think.

9. Give up your resistance to change.

Change is hard for some folks. Change is good.

10. Give up labels.

Except for food labels…pay attention to what is on that label.

11. Give up on your fears.

There is nothing to be afraid of.

12. Give up your excuses.

Own your actions.

13. Give up the past.

Let it go.

14. Give up attachment.

Let it go.

15. Give up living your life to other people’s expectations.

Be yourself. Do what works and makes you happy.

Choose happy.

Then choose one of these to really work on today and tomorrow.

Which one will you “Give Up”? Feel free to share below as you like: 

**Excerpts borrowed and reblogged from: http://www.purposefairy.com/3308/15-things-you-should-give-up-in-order-to-be-happy/

5 responses to “Give Up. — Crowd out the Complicated. Invite the Happy.

  1. Jan says:

    I’m going to give up my resistance to change. Maybe I’ll get a Kindle?!?

  2. smirkpretty says:

    I’m giving up on giving up. No more self-imposed defeat!

  3. Sunshine says:

    would love to give up 1-15 …haha, but love the #15 the best. i choose HAPPY. 🙂

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Sounds simple, doesn’t it. We should all be able to do this, everyday. We say this to the girl child when drama creeps up on her. 🙂 I think I may have it stenciled on her wall!

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

