mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Believe. — Faith That Looks Like the Whispers in a Sock Monkey’s Ear.

on December 29, 2012

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/daily-prompt-unfaithful/

Tell us about the role that faith plays in your life — or doesn’t.

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.
Hebrews 11:1

Faith is the complete trust or confidence in something or someone.

I have faith in God. I have faith that there is a higher power, that there is a plan. This faith has seen me through many times, good times and hard times. It is enduring and unending, something that gives me peace but is hard to find the words to accurately describe.

Many times I have watched two sleeping children in the backseat, and am reminded that childhood is a time of complete faith. A time when you believe and trust in many things that you cannot hold or see. A time when you have faith in the people around you. A time when a trusted friend or stuffed animal is faith, defined.

My faithful friend, growing up, was always a sock monkey, named JoJo. She was made by my Grandmother when I was a wee small girl. Much like the Velveteen Rabbit, JoJo was very, very real to me. She was always there … except for one night when she was left at a friend’s house by accident and it was much too late to retrieve her. (By the way, that night, my just-3-years- older-than-me-uncle tried to replace JoJo with his G.I. Joe, which didn’t go over well with me, but the event is still a family story favorite.)

JoJo was my confidant. She was the one that I whispered secret dreams to. I used her ears to wipe my tears if I was upset or scared. She was real to me. Important. Faithful. Trustworthy.  She still sits in my bedroom, yes, as a 40-year-old Momma of X and Y, today. She is a reminder of faith.

As a Momma, it is important to me that X and Y know faith; that they know faith as big as, and bigger than, a sock monkey. It is important to me that they have the ability to trust in things that they can’t see. It is important to me that they know there are larger things than this world can actually hold. It is important to me that they believe, without doubt, in these things.

God.

Love.

Hope.

Trust.

So, we put in the effort…everyday, to make sure that they know and recognize this find of faith.

But being 7 and 4, the world is a very literal place. So, what does faith look like to a 7- and 4- year old?

Complete Confidence in Santa Claus. In Elves on shelves. In Tooth Fairies and the Easter Bunny.

Absolute Magic. These are real and unquestioned.

Then there is:

Family traditions and nighttime tuck in routines.

Knowing someone will meet you as you step off the school bus…each and everyday.

Sleeping contentedly while daddy drives you home after a long day of fun.

Chicken noodle soup and medicine and a day on the couch under a blanket, in control of the remote, when you are sick.

Holding hands across a parking lot.

Seeing your parents hug and kiss in the kitchen; then trying to squeeze in between them.

Birthday candle wishes.

Knowing that someone will catch you at the bottom of the diving board.

Taking the training wheels off.

As adults, we sometimes forget to put in the effort to see the signs of faith all around us. We sometimes lose the feeling that someone “has”us. Someone who won’t let us fall. Someone we can turn to….Who takes care of us when we do trip and fall. Someone who makes magic happen for us and around us.

As adults, we sometimes forget to make the effort to take time to see the sunrises or sunsets. Appreciate the good news amidst the bad. Find the joy and choose happy. Or even recognize that we have just been saved from a mishap or accident.

And yet, we still need to believe. We still need faith.

I think the trick is, we have to keep believing, no matter what, that faith is worth the effort. Everyday.

4 responses to “Believe. — Faith That Looks Like the Whispers in a Sock Monkey’s Ear.

  1. Jan says:

    LOVE how you remember and bring those memories back for me. LOVE this blog.

  2. […] Believe. – Faith That Looks Like the Whispers in a Sock Monkey’s Ear. […]

  3. seeker says:

    Those children have great faith in you that they will be arrive home safely. In my humble opinion, as long as you believe, there is faith. No tricks, but plenty of treats.

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

