mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Award. — Paying it forward.

on December 26, 2012

liebster-award-logo

Thanks to Jenn’sMidLifeCrisis for this nomination.  If you don’t know Jenn…check her and her sassy green boots out. She’s a Momma of boys and is embracing her own ‘midlife’ journey, without a sign of any real crisis because she is just. that. cool. And she reads Captain Underpants with her youngin’. That’s just good stuff right there! Thanks for the nod,  Jenn!

(My apologies to Jenn, this took me way too long to complete.  I’m discovering that pesky work must get in my way of blogging, and I am using these days off to play a little catch up.  🙂 )

So, to accept this award, I will now share 11 random facts about me and answer a few questions. Ready?

1. I don’t really like my dog right now. He’s kind of puppy dumb…but I hope to like him someday. That fact makes me a little sad because I love dogs…let’s just say we are having attachment issues and I hope there is hope for us. 🙂

2. I have a love hate relationship with my eyelashes and eyebrows. It’s true. My lashes are long and lovely, but they poke me  in they eyes sometimes.  My eyebrows were reshaped, without malicious intent when I was 13 and my grandmother’s sister’s tried to reshape them by plucking extensively. It’s true, there were probably a couple of caterpillars above my eyes, but the shape has never been the same since that day. I don’t know what to tell you.  I’ve moved on.

3. I just moved into a new office and it has windows. I just posted a blog post about light … and in it you can see my glorious windows. I sit at my desk each morning and say, “It’s so pretty.”

4.I could easily watch all 24 hours of The Christmas Story. My family can attest to that.

5. My favorite holidays are New Year’s Eve and my birthday. Both represent new beginnings and I love a new journal with empty pages.

6. I want to write a book. Someday. And go on a book tour. Think it could ever happen?

7. Our Christmas Tree was so big this year, we had to literally tie it to the wall. There are two screws and fishing line holding that thing up.

8. I cannot stand to be in small, cramped, tight places. If my children get stuck in a tubey slide, they may just have to live there.  I had to go up and in after X once when he was 2 in a Chik-fil-A playground. Once he saw my eyes and the look on my face, he started saying, “I’m Sorry. I’m Sorry. I’m Sorry. I’m Sorry!”

9. When I was a kid, my Dad would make my eat tomatoes, which I hated so much, I could make myself throw up.  (Sorry, Dad!) Now, I am well known for my famous appetizer Bruschetta (made of… yes, tomatoes!) and bring it to most parties we attend. Go figure.

10. I think I was 23 before I learned to swallow pills. Well, maybe not 23. But I did spend a lot of years having tylenol melted in a spoonful of water for me and I’m fairly certain my parents had to pay extra for liquid versions of medicines just to avoid the hassle.

11. I know how to make sock monkeys and towel animals.

How’s that for random?!

And now on to the questions:

The 11 questions are:

What is your favorite quote? Well today it is: “Forgive others, not necessarily because they deserve it, but because it brings you peace.”

What is your favorite season? Summer

What is one of your hobbies? Right now, it is this blog.

What is your favorite dessert? Ice cream

What is one piece of advice you’d like to share with the world? “Be nice and Do what I say.” That is the secret to my marriage of 13 years and goes both ways.

What is your biggest dream? To be able to do what I enjoy doing and not have to do too much of it and still get paid to do it so that I can just play and travel and be with my family. 

Who is your favorite superhero/heroine? Right now, it is Iron Man. He makes me giggle and I like me some Robert Downey, Jr. Always have, but like him even more now.

Who is your favorite fictional character and why? Does Diane Lane’s character in “Under the Tuscan Sun” count? I like her. I could move to Tuscany someday. 

Who is your favorite famous person and why? Pippa, Princess Kate’s sister. Mostly because I like saying Pippa. I think I missed a real opportunity to have named Y, Pippa. I tell her that all the time.  She loves the idea. No. Not really.

What is your favorite book and why? Favorite? I don’t know. I’m a busy Momma and I barely have time for reading.  So, what I’m kinda reading right now is Unglued, by Lisa Terkerst.

What is your current brand of toothpaste? Colgate. Lifelong. True. Fan. I really can’t stand any other brand.

Instructions to my nominees: to accept the award, you are to post 11 random facts about yourself and answer 11 questions provided. Pass the award on to 11 other bloggers (make sure you tell them you nominated them!) and give them the same instructions! You are not allowed to nominate the blog who nominated you! Make sure the blogs you chose have 200 or LESS followers. Here are the questions to answer:

What is your favorite quote? 

What is your favorite season? 

What is one of your hobbies? 

What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?

What is one piece of advice you’d like to share with the world? 

What is your biggest dream? 

Who is your favorite superhero/heroine? 

What is the movie you watch in the middle of the night when you can’t sleep?

Who is your favorite famous person and why? 

What is the first of your favorite songs that you think of … right…. now!? 

What is your favorite flavor/brand of wine? (Or drink of choice?) 

And now the Liebster Awards Go To These folks that I enjoy reading–These are supposed to be new blogs…I don’t know how new they are, but they were new to me once and maybe to you, too:

1. The Crumb Diaries  Momma raising kiddos and loving them for all they are, accepting them for whatever journey they are on, because she will be there right beside them, every step of the way.

2. laurieanichols  A dedicated blogger — I like the way she thinks and writes. 

3. SmirkPretty  I am enjoying her Happy 100 Days project.  She’s taking it one day at a time. I can appreciate that.

4. Perfectly Imperfect Momma  Another Momma taking it one day (and one drink) at a time.

5. Naptime Writing   I love the idea of Mommas hiding away during naptimes to record some thoughts.  She’s snowed in right now…somebody send her some BioFreeze!

6.  BonneVivanteLife   I’m not sure she knows this, but she’s the first one to really make me feel welcomed in the blogging community and for that I am forever thankful.

7. Mostly Domesticated  Crack me up. I have an X who feels exactly the same way about … BACON!  We had this exact conversation tonight. 🙂

8. The Yummy Mummy Train  She’s doing her best to pay attention to the details while raising up a little one. She’s set a goal for Meditation Mondays in 2013. Check her out.

9. Mama of Letters  I love her take on child led learning and her take on life in general.

10. Scarred for Life  This one’s personal for me.  I find her inspirational — she shares stories of her life and her journey overcoming thyroid cancer.

11. and Last but not least a shameless plug for my hubby and brother in law’s business: SnakeClamp  I’m their guest blogger. I work for free cheap.  Is this a cop-out, maybe, well, yes. But this was hard and I’ve discovered that I follow a lot of the Freshly Pressed blogs who have a ton of followers. 🙂

Go forth and Award! Pay it forward. Make new friends!

3 responses to “Award. — Paying it forward.

  1. Laugh. Moving to Tuscany, Diane Lane-style? Absolutely! And my Hubby still can’t swallow pills and he’s nearly 50! You’ve done well! LOL

  2. OMG, how about this for putting things on the back burner (my euphemism for “procrastination”)??? I JUST now finally read this entire post. First, I had to chug a bit more o’ my fine wine when I saw that my acceptance of your lovely nomination would not happen tonight (a total of TWENTY TWO facts/things/sentences???) AND I am awash with a warm gratitude. That is the nicest, kindest thing you’ve said about me. Thank you. Thank you so much. And no, I had no idea. I’m honored to have taken that role in your life. Thank you.

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

