mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Celebrate. —Recapping the Journey, 40 days to 40.

on November 21, 2012

This summer, I started thinking about my 40th birthday coming up this fall.  (Actually, now in two days, Black Friday to the rest of the world.) There was a lot going on in my world at that point, as everybody always has a lot going on in their worlds. But all of that made me want to make this birthday just a little more significant than just the milestone that it is.

I decided on a 40 day countdown. I marked it on my calendar. I bought a new journal and decorated it all up for the 40th  reflections on life.  I made some lists, named some goals and set some intentions.

There would be a post a day on Facebook. It started on October 14th.  But soon, I discovered that a simple Facebook status wasn’t enough. And all roads led me back to here. To my MommyVerbs blog that I had begun the summer before but had let sit dormant for way too long.

So, while we are busy being thankful for all that we have and all that we are tomorrow…

Happy Thanksgiving! by the way!…

I thought I would take a few minutes and recap my journey of 40 days to 40.  Some of you that have been following along all this time, watching the numbers slowly tick down–I hope maybe you enjoyed traveling along with me….or … you may be just very thankful that it is almost over and you don’t have to read about it anymore.  Either way, here you go…one more time.

40 Days to 40:

40.  Find out who you are and do it on purpose.

39.  “Our God is greater, our God is stronger; God You are higher than any other; Our God is Healer, awesome and power; And if Our God is for us, then who could ever stop us? And if our God is with us, then what can stand against?” Song stuck in my head this morning…..

38.  Live simply and with intention.

37. “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” — Thanks Toni Morrison for the advice … and the challenge.  (And here’s when I started writing again.)

36. Actively engage in the battles with doubt, insecurity and regret. …. And learn from each challenge, just a little something to take into the next round.

35. “You know, it was just so interesting to me that a ride could make me so frightened, so scared, so sick, so excited, and so thrilled all together! Some didn’t like it. They went on the merry-go-round. That just goes around. Nothing. I like the roller coaster. You get more out of it.”

34. “You have to live spherically – in many directions. Never lose your childish enthusiasm – and things will come your way.” -Federico Fellini

33. Don’t just enjoy the day. Engage it. Engage the day. ♥  Engage.

32. I want. I want. I want. Although I just gave X a consequence of losing a bunch of his toys recently because he wasn’t appreciating what he had, I spent most of the day struggling with wants. Something. Else. More. When does a want become a goal? Want.

31. Thankful for the phone call with T that changed my attitude and perspective this afternoon. Engaging in battles with old habits is tough work. But good work. Do work, son.

30. “And now,” cried Max, “let the wild rumpus start!” … But then, also find time to “Be Still!” Reflections on Living Where the Wild Things Are.

30.1. “Accept what lands.” And I’ll add, “Catch it and Do Something with It!” Thanks Kathleen V.  I like that a lot and am adding it to my 40 days til 40 journey.  Accept.

29. Decluttering: It’s not just about picking up toys. Its about simplifying your world, just a tiny bit at a time.  Declutter.

28. Terrible ideas. Don’t you just love those?

27. Explore the world. Go. Do that.  Explore.

26. There’s no place like home. You know they say, you can’t go home again…sure you can. Home is where your story begins and continues every day. Be home.

25. Today. I will both engage and “IINgage”. BegIINing again on a new endeavor/adventure. Looking forward to the learning ahead.
24. ‘When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me’.  — Erma Bombeck
23. “We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful about what we pretend to be.” ― Kurt Vonnegut said that … For those of you who found my blog today a bit of a downer, don’t worry! Here it is again, read it and know it was not abo
ut sad, but more about ‘faking the funk’ so to speak. A fun Halloween night was had by all. I pretended myself right into enjoying the madness and chaos of the costumes and the candy and even managed to have a nice little chat over wine with a neighbor friend.  Pretend. 

22. “In everyone’s life, at some time, our inner fire goes out. It is then burst into flame by an encounter with another human being. We should all be thankful for those people who rekindle the inner spirit.” ~Albert Schweitzer
     22.1 Thankful for Friends (the noun) and being able to “Friend”(the verb).  Friend. 

21. Accept compliments. Really accept them. Take them in. Pause and say Thanks, but hang out in a place where you hear that they said something really nice to you and about you. Don’t blow it off. Then. Give compliments. Tell someone that they look nice, did a great job or are just an awesome person. Or get creative like, “Every other country is super jealous that you are a citizen of this country.” or “All of your cousins call you the cool cousin.” And if you can’t think of a good compliments, like these, check out this website. It has made me giggle several times already–www.emergencycompliment.com (keep refreshing for new ones!)

20. Here we go. 20 days til’ 40. It is getting serious now. Or as the young kids say, “Sh*t just got real” b/c there are several things that should happen in the next 20 days. Eeeek! For those that have voiced their concern about me being upset by this milestone…you should know I am not at all. I’m excited. Bring it! This is just my effort in making this a significant journey. As it should be. Thanks for going along with me.
19. “To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.” e.e. cummings  See. 

18. Decide. Take a deep breath and handle the situation. That’s what I did today when faced with a frustrating situation and a deadline. I have often taken offense over the years for being labeled for my dramatic flair. Me?! Not me! ;-o I have to admit it’s been a subtle, yet effective method for making things happen. Today. Today, I made a deliberate decision to not give in to the flair/flare. It was refreshing really.The lesson: Change. Can. Happen. Given enough time.
17. “Begin somewhere. You cannot build a reputation on what you intend to do.” -Liz Smith, author and journalist
16. Be kind to one another. Even if you disagree.
15. “How can you be so wise and so inappropriate at the same time?”
“I’m a parent.”  Parks and Recreation. Silly show. Great line.
14. Learn to be what you are, and learn to resign with a good grace all that you are not.
13. “Dwell in possibility” — Emily Dickinson wrote that. And I’ll add the last line of my Salutatorian speech 22 years ago: “Just think of the possibilities! And … get ready for greatness, Lloyd!” Emily is more prophetic. I’m a bit more pop culture.
12. Glean a little from life everyday.  Gather. Learn. Find out.  Bit by Bit.  Glean.
11. Do more of what makes you awesome. And remember, anyone can be cool…but awesome takes practice.

10. From The Paper, one of my favorite movies, that no one really gets but me; a movie that has inspired several quotes that I use in daily conversations: Like, in response to Henry drinking a Coke in the morning–“Why don’t you just pour battery acid down your throat?” To which he replies, “No caffeine.” There are a couple of others, but I woke up with this one in my head this morning. So, 10 days to 40 (which was actually yesterday) here it is:

“That is exactly my point. It is never one big dramatic choice. It is little, vague situations every day…and you’re either there or you’re not. If you keep waiting for the guy with the gun to show up,” (and I’m crazy against guns, so insert something life or death that forces you to decide) …. “it will be too late.”

9. Single. Digits. Serious. Now. ……
As in Friday Night Lights: I’m hoping for…”Clear Eyes. Full Heart. Can’t Lose.” In other words–
Seek Clarity. Find Passion. Pursue your Purpose without fail.
8. “Change and growth take place when a person has risked himself and dares to become involved with experimenting with his own life.”  –Herbert Otto  Grow. 

7. Someone just pointed out that my 40th is on Black Friday…and she thought it was funny. 1. I didn’t realize it until she said it … because 2. that is not the color MY day. Color. 

6. I’m in love with WordPress. And I got a streak of purple in my hair today. This turning 40 thing maybe going to my head. The tattoo is next. Stay tuned. It’s a new game, people.  Tag. 

5. My new Ann Taylor shirt is ripped. I have bruises on both arms. My house is a wreck, but I have multiple gifts of wine goodies and an awesome retro video here. Yep. It was a good pre-40th birthday party. Thanks to Ultimate Spoons. And some Ah. May. Zing. friends and family. Stay tuned for the blog later. Hahaha. Love you all.  Party. 

4. Well, now it’s just getting anti-climactic. There was no party, no Ultimate Spoons, no freshly pressed award, no wine presents of goodness. Instead, there were silly games with the boy-child while the power was out, a solid 1.5 hour nap and a mani/pedi with the girl-child.  Four Days to 40. Are we tired of this yet?!
3. So here is how I spent my day. I also went to the tattoo place, but got a little scared. Found out I will need to wait until the weekend…apparently you can’t go swimming with a new tattoo and we have a date with a water park this week. Renew. 

2. Still have a few hours to share and post this one.  Stay Tuned.
1.  Happy Thanksgiving. I am grateful for muchness. And on Small Business Saturday, I begin a new journey.
The first 40 days of being 40.
It’s going to be good. Trust me.
9 responses to “Celebrate. —Recapping the Journey, 40 days to 40.

  1. Jan says:

    LOVED sharing your journey to 40. Since being there from the very beginning, it is a journey for me as well, my Thanksgiving Baby. May your dinner not include beans, wieners, and peas!

  2. I’m getting a tattoo before my 40th next year too! Always wanted one (Hubby said “no” when I turned 30 so I have my ear pierced instead – now he doesn’t care so much)! Looking forward to next adventure. Party on, Garth!

  3. Happy belated birthday! 40 IS the new Fabulous!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      I saw a t-shirt that may offend many, so it would limit the number of places I could wear it, including in front of the kiddos. And yet the irreverent part of me still wants it…”40 is the new badass.” teeheehee.

  4. […] irony is not lost on me that this is a 40 day journey. I mean… “Hello!” I am pretty seasoned now on the whole 40 day […]

  5. […] Celebrate. “A Pirates Look at 40″ by Jimmy […]

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

