mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Renew. — Ready for my closeup.

on November 20, 2012

This will be the first blog written on location. I’m currently sitting in the lobby of my local DMV to renew my driver’s license. Another rite of passage for turning 40. I don’t mind it so much actually. You can tell I’m a busy Mom, because I don’t usually find myself alone, waiting by myself. Anywhere. Anytime. So.

First, I have taken a vacation day, well days, to celebrate the big day. And I just came from lunch with my daughter at her school, so I’ve done my obligatory day off motherly duties already. I have no other kiddos with me and I don’t mind just being here by myself with some time. It is not often that I am not on a crazy busy schedule with some place to be either now or 5 minutes ago. So. I’m here. Sitting semi-still (I’m a wiggler by nature). Waiting.

Well, now I’m on my phone in the WordPress app, blogging, so I guess it is safe to say I’m always doing something while I wait.

But I was just doing a little mourning also. You see, I am really going to miss my drivers license picture. Yep. Hands down it has been one of the best casual pictures taken of me in the past 5 years. 5 years ago exactly almost to the day. I’m not sure what happened that day, but I was looking and feeling good. I had good hair and a great smile, if I do say so myself.  And apparently I do, because I just did. I think I was expecting X at the time, which explains the glowiness of it all. Anyway, I’m going to miss this documentation. So much so that I have taken a picture to keep it. Forever.

So. Now I wait to renew my right and privilege to drive my arse off everyday. Well at least for the next five years. And I wait to renew my drivers license picture. The only image of me that I carry around with me whenever I leave the house. I’m as prepared as I can be. I have on a cute outfit. I have hip hair. I even put on lipstick.

Lets do this. Because now I actually am getting tired of waiting. I hear that they mail the new licenses to us so we will all have to wait for the new version of me for the year of being 40.

……………passage of many minutes that I cannot ever get back……………..

Until…..

After waiting close to 90 minutes, otherwise known as a lifetime to me, the DMV folks were so kind to let us know that the National Register of all folks who drive and want to drive and have lost their right to drive, etc. in the entire 50 states, is in fact, not working and we can take our chances and continue to wait and cross our fingers and toes and MAYBE your renewal will go through.  If you are lucky.

So, cut to the end. I checked with the lovely gentleman at the help desk who was sweet and kind and winked at me and told me that I could go home and do this online in about 3 minutes.

AND…I can keep my current picture.

So, Go Home. (Really wanted to reward myself with some ice cream on the way, but I avoided the temptation and drove straight home. No, really I did, because my stomach kind of hurts–remember I ate a school lunch with my daughter and I don’t usually do cheese.)

Done. License Renewed. Picture continues to live on for 5 more years. Moving on.

Now, I’m just mourning my lost 90 minutes….

5 responses to “Renew. — Ready for my closeup.

  1. I have never had a good DL photo…and I do the hair, the make-up, the carefully selected outfit. Congrats on getting to keep a good one – someone in this world should have it! 🙂

  2. […] was showing my friend my new driver’s license that had just come in the mail.  It is all black and white and fancy with a new hologram version […]

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

