mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Blink.

on November 14, 2012

This post is a little different. It is in response to a prompt provided by WordPress that instantly spoke to me.  I thought about it for days and couldn’t let it go. That must mean something.

So, to my MommyVerbs family and followers—Don’t fret. Just telling a story here.  Or really, not telling it.  Just telling my tiny part of it.  But in the not telling of it, I hope I will give you what MommyVerbs tries to be…a little perspective/ reflection on life–one action word at a time.  

So, here’s the prompt: Just as we can suspend a moment in time by snapping a photograph, an instant can change our lives forever. For this week’s writing challenge: tell us about a moment when your life was changed in a split second. The good, the bad, the funny, and the thought-provoking, our lives are composed of a series of meaningful events that help to shape who we are. And here’s me, not telling the story: 

Blink. Blink. Blink. Try to make sense of this. I don’t know what that is. I don’t know what you are telling me. Let me see it again. Say it. Again.

The whole of this story is not mine to share, so I won’t.

But this part is. This one part. This one picture is mine–it is not of me, it is not a person, it is more of an intruder…a thing that changed everything in an instant…and yet, the image is mine. It is my story of … this.

I can still see it. Hear it. Feel it.  I know where I was sitting. I know what he was holding. I can hear the words. What he said and what he didn’t say.

I can be there in an instant.

That moment, this picture he showed me…intentionally documenting it as a way of making me believe the unbelievable, something that he didn’t even fully believe himself yet, was his way of saying it, and without ever saying the word… was… the instant that changed my perspective on … everything.

Blink. Blink. Blink.  Breathe. Focus.

Six months later=perspective. It is still surreal. Never far from my mind. It could have been worse. Still surreal.

But looking back, realizing that this is the image, the one I still can’t quite make sense of, I still don’t know just what I’m looking at and yet….

This is the instant that in some part motivates this blog. Hell, it is the instant that partially motivates my life.

“Engage each day with action words.” It is not the only instant, but it is one of them.

And to have it captured here,  and I can’t even bring myself to share it with you…Believe me, I’ve instagrammed it and I’ve inserted it and deleted 10 times already…the fact that I have it, even if I can’t let you see it…it is sort of a gift. I can define that moment. Here.

Because I was the only one that experienced it this way. Blinking. Blinking. Searching for sense. Wading through questions and answers while not being able to see. Blinking. Trying to find focus.

And this instant is connected to the next. And the next. And the next….and the ones that came before and have come since. And the ones that haven’t happened yet.

To take one instant out of the sequence, to leave it there by itself, doesn’t begin to tell the story anyway. Because it is not really about… that.

Its about the way everything has changed since.

Slow down.

Breathe.

Be Patient.

Be Happy.

Explore.

Play more.

Just be.

Let it go.

Find music.

Sit.

Hold.

Hug.

Kiss.

Choose.

Intend.

Attend.

Help.

Focus.

Blink.

In that instant, in the time it took to blink. I made a choice. I took a breath. I closed my eyes and focused.

I said a prayer and I set an intention.

To make every instant after that instant. …. Matter.

Let’s All, Go. Do that.

3 responses to “Blink.

  1. Jan says:

    Thank you for sharing this.

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

