mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Wake. — and BE awake and Coffee. Stat.

on November 11, 2012

I actually enjoy waking up early in the morning.

The house is quiet. The time is mine. I can sit. Still. And Be.  I love it and sometimes I feel like I don’t want it to end. If everyone could sleep just a little longer. The quiet, waking time could last.

Tiptoe around, trying to be as sssshhhhhhhhhh as possible, so as not to wake anyone else up too early and end the … stillness.

Start the coffee pot. Make sure to catch the refrigerator door when I get out the coconut milk creamer, to muffle the closing sound.

Take the coffee to the couch, usually armed with some technology of sorts and a journal and favorite simple blue ink pen.

Write a list of things that I want to accomplish today. If I’m not going to sleep, then I want to be productive.

Start the day. Make the plan. Set the intention.

It’s more than just waking up, getting up and starting the day.

It’s about… choosing to be … awake …. I mean, really awake—paying attention to the important things. Enjoying the journey, not so much focused on what it all looks like or what time it is or where we have to be or what needs to be cleaned.  Be awake for the laughter and the conversations. Be awake to the requests for play and the growing up that is happening right in front of my eyes.

Be awake to the needs and the wants. Be awake to the changes and the consequences.  Keep my eyes open and focused on what’s important.

Waking up. That’s the easy part. The hard pieces are the in between times….the hard part is  really staying “awake”  during the day when it gets messy.

Because, even though I set an intention not to become ‘unglued’ during a day or promise myself to have patience and be calm during the proverbial storm. It almost always happens.  I hit a wall, push my limit: I’m done and I just need a bit of an outlet, I think, sometimes.  What’s that line from that movie I love, “The Paper”?  … I like to yell. I yell because you haven’t heard!  That’s what I feel like 87% of the time!

But always, at the end of the day, I end up apologizing for yelling. And losing my patience. And for being distracted. Or whatever the ‘failure du jour’ is. The truth is, if everything were perfect and still and quiet and clean….

I would miss the messy.  Come on now. That’s where the life is. That’s where the fun is.  Don’t get me wrong–I would love for my house to stay clean and for my life to be organized. But after a little while, it would be too quiet. Too still. Too…boring.

We need to wake up to what’s around us. To our choices. To how we spend our time. To what we prioritize and what gifts we offer. To what we teach everyday. To how it all affects us.  And others.

So, wake up, have my cups of coffee and go to the storytime Y had this morning. She planned it, advertised it, started to charge money for it and then decided it was free… and I was there, on time, for her Storytime. We watched The Cat in the Hat and she read One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish.

I sure am glad I was awake for that!

4 responses to “Wake. — and BE awake and Coffee. Stat.

  1. rarasaur says:

    😀 I love how it went from 60 cents to free, ha! It’s the best sign ever. 🙂

  2. MommyVerbs says:

    Awwww. Thanks! Yes, the girl child takes her event planning quite seriously. We find signs like this on the refrigerator often, announcing the ‘Next. Big. Thing.” We just try to keep up!

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

