mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Friend. — Changing of the tense.

on November 1, 2012

I know what you are thinking. Come on, MommyVerbs…Friend is a noun.

Not anymore.

Facebook has made a verb out of the word, “Friend.” No matter, the good, the bad or the ugly of social media outlets, I appreciate that contribution to society.  Think about it. “Friend” should be an action word. We should be intentional about being and doing … “Friend”.

We say it all the time now, without even thinking about it. “Friend” me on Facebook. Or I ‘friended” her last week.  See. Friend is a verb now.

On this first day of November, it is tradition to begin on a journey of gratitude.  I’m starting with Friends, the noun.

I have been blessed with many friends in my life.  Real. True. Life-Long Friends.  We go back 33 years, to rows of desks on the first day of 2nd grade.  We go back 25 years to a volleyball court. We go back 15 years to a college campus, student teaching and a spring break trip. We go back 9 years to teaching in an elementary school together during a semi-magical time.  We go back 3 years to hours in an office, writing a grant together. We go back to yesterday, when a quick conversation with an angel-friend makes my world have just a little more purpose.

I think Doing and Being “Friend” is the key to not only our survival, but our daily thrive-al.

So, Happy Calendar Day, Everyone. Practice some Gratitude and Go. Be “Friend.”

**********************************************************************************************************

“In everyone’s life, at some time, our inner fire goes out. It is then burst into flame by an encounter with another human being. We should all be thankful for those people who rekindle the inner spirit.” ~Albert Schweitzer

**********************************************************************************************************

On a side note:  Lately, during this election season, we hear a lot about “un-friending” those who may not think like we do about some issues. It happens. We disagree on topics all the time. But the downside of “Friend” being a verb, is that it can be undone…for good or for bad, there is a way to actively undo their friend status. However, in my PollyAnna ways, I like to believe that everyone will “friend” each other again before Thanksgiving anyway, so it is all just temporary. Yes. I’ll believe that. You can, too.

3 responses to “Friend. — Changing of the tense.

  1. […] 25. Today. I will both engage and “IINgage”. BegIINing again on a new endeavor/adventure. Looking forward to the learning ahead. 24. ‘When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me’.  – Erma Bombeck 23. “We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful about what we pretend to be.” ― Kurt Vonnegut said that … For those of you who found my blog today a bit of a downer, don’t worry! Here it is again, read it and know it was not abo ut sad, but more about ‘faking the funk’ so to speak. A fun Halloween night was had by all. I pretended myself right into enjoying the madness and chaos of the costumes and the candy and even managed to have a nice little chat over wine with a neighbor friend.  Pretend. 22. “In everyone’s life, at some time, our inner fire goes out. It is then burst into flame by an encounter with another human being. We should all be thankful for those people who rekindle the inner spirit.” ~Albert Schweitzer      22.1 Thankful for Friends (the noun) and being able to “Friend”(the verb).  Friend. […]

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go:

