mommyverbs

Engaging Each Day with Action Words

Mix. — If John Hughes Made the Soundtrack for my Blog

on December 17, 2012

Mix. MommyVerbs Style

There are some of the Daily Prompt Challenges that get stuck in my head and I can’t let them go. This was a Daily Prompt Challenge from at least a week ago…but hey, I’m a busy Momma and my days are overflowing to the point that I”m actually curbing my wine intake just so I can manage to stay awake a little longer and use the wee hours of the night, post tuck-ins, for my projects.  That, my few dear reader friends, is dedication.

So the challenge was to make a mix tape of your life.  I LOVE this. Come on Michelle of WordPress…how cool are you?!

I have always said that I wish life had a soundtrack and the perfect song for the scene would fade in at just the perfect moment and make it all just…perfect.  I’ve started my response to this a couple of times, but nothing seemed right.

And the beauty of the old school mix tape was just that. You could always start over. You could erase the last song and record over it.  You could decide that you never liked that boy anyway and now that he’s seeing someone else, you hate every single song on this stupid tape and his handwriting on the paper insert, too. (Sorry, flashback to 15.)

So, you start over. You have a new idea, a new theme, a new romance. You erase the old and you fall in love with different songs with new meanings and you start to hear the lyrics everywhere you go.  In your car. In your room. In your walkman. (If you are younger than 20, Google it.) 🙂

That’s what MommyVerbs is becoming for me. A new love. Certainly a terribly wonderful distraction and … so. much. fun. I’m seeing action words everywhere. The few lovely readers that I have in the real world are now, when I see them out and about,  suggesting topics for me to write about and then offering verbs to go with the story.

So, like a mix tape, don’t over think it—if MommyVerbs was a movie, then this is the mix tape soundtrack of my blog:

1. Define.  “Brand New Day” Van Morrison

2. Breathe.  “As If We Never Said Goodbye” from “Sunset Boulevard”

3. Play. “Forever Young” (while I love the Bob Dylan version) Rod Stewart

4. Engage. “Doing the Unstuck” The Cure

5. Want. “All I Really Want” Alanis Morissette

6. Argue. “Let It All Hang Out” The Hombres

7. Accept. “Let It Be” The Beatles

8. Declutter. “I Go Crazy” Flesh for Lulu

9. Explore. “Jack and Diane” John Mellancamp

10. Pretend. “Spiderwebs” No Doubt

11. Friend. “Strong Enough” Sheryl Crow

12. Move.  “A Little Less Conversation” Elvis Presley

13. See. “In Your Eyes” Peter Gabriel

14. Vote. “The Difference” Matchbox Twenty

15. Lose. “If You Were Here” Cary Brothers

16. Find. “Everywhere” Fleetwood Mac

17. Nod. “Sharona” The Knack

18. Wake. “These Are The Days” Keith Urban

19. Glean. “Diamond Road” Cheryl Crow

20. Blink. “Kid Fears” Indigo Girls

21. Grow. “Watching the Wheels” John Lennon

22. Color. “100 years” Five for Fighting

23. Tag. “Clarity” John Mayer

24. Party. “Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) Green Day

25. Renew.  “Solsbury Hill” Peter Gabriel

26. Celebrate. “A Pirates Look at 40” by Jimmy Buffet

27. Mirror. “Your Song” Elton John

28. Check. “Last Chance” Maroon 5

29. Settle. “Crash Into Me” Dave Matthews Band

30. Please. “Three Little Birds” Bob Marley

31. Win! “I Feel Lucky” Mary Chapin Carpenter

32. Rock. “Learning to Fly” Tom Petty

33. Waffle. “Sugar High” Coyote Shivers

34. Bathe. “Imagine” John Lennon

35. Tie. “Beautiful Boy” John Lennon

36. Hold. “Say What You Mean to Say” by John Mayer


7 responses to “Mix. — If John Hughes Made the Soundtrack for my Blog

  1. Jan says:

    Roadtrip and mixtape!

  2. What a fun post!! But HATE it when I have to curb the wine intake a smidge to be productive!! What is THAT?? 🙂

  3. MommyVerbs says:

    Play. As in Playlist. I have an ah.may.zing friend who turned this MommyVerbs mixtape into an actual playlist on Spotify. What fun I had this afternoon! I’m not sure my officemate enjoyed “My Sharona” as much as I did though! 🙂

  4. Tonya says:

    Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this article together.

    I once again find myself spending a significant
    amount of time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

    • MommyVerbs says:

      Thank you for taking the time to hang out around these little action words! There are so many ah.may.zing writers in this little WordPress neighborhood…iI completely understand how easy it is to lose time reading and chatting with folks. Like now…I should be in the shower getting ready for work…sheeesh! 🙂 I appreciate you spending some time here, too!

Comment Challenge: Start your comment with one action word. Then Proceed. Go: